add SG90 servo

Moderators: grovkillen, Stuntteam, TD-er

Post Reply
Message
Author
asuz
Normal user
Posts: 175
Joined: 31 Oct 2018, 18:22

add SG90 servo

#1 Post by asuz » 22 Apr 2020, 16:09

Hi to all, how can I add a SG90 http://www.ee.ic.ac.uk/pcheung/teaching ... asheet.pdf servo to the espeasy? Is there a special release for the servos? May I connect it directly? Which device should I choose for control it? Can anybody help me, I cannot find any tutorial about it and no answer at search.

User avatar
grovkillen
Core team member
Posts: 3621
Joined: 19 Jan 2017, 12:56
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Re: add SG90 servo

#2 Post by grovkillen » 22 Apr 2020, 18:37

You can control the servo using the servo commands: https://espeasy.readthedocs.io/en/lates ... motor-page
ESP Easy Flasher [flash tool and wifi setup at flash time]
ESP Easy Webdumper [easy screendumping of your units]
ESP Easy Netscan [find units]
Official shop: https://firstbyte.shop/
Sponsor ESP Easy, we need you :idea: :idea: :idea:

asuz
Normal user
Posts: 175
Joined: 31 Oct 2018, 18:22

Re: add SG90 servo

#3 Post by asuz » 01 May 2020, 11:52

grovkillen wrote: 22 Apr 2020, 18:37 You can control the servo using the servo commands: https://espeasy.readthedocs.io/en/lates ... motor-page
I've got it thanks :)

Christian72D
New user
Posts: 1
Joined: 28 Dec 2021, 13:59

Re: add SG90 servo

#4 Post by Christian72D » 28 Dec 2021, 14:01

grovkillen wrote: 22 Apr 2020, 18:37 You can control the servo using the servo commands: https://espeasy.readthedocs.io/en/lates ... motor-page
Also THX for the link.

But i don´t understand the syntax: "Servo,1,12,-45"

What ist "1" and "12" for?

User avatar
Ath
Normal user
Posts: 4330
Joined: 10 Jun 2018, 12:06
Location: NL

Re: add SG90 servo

#5 Post by Ath » 28 Dec 2021, 14:33

Christian72D wrote: 28 Dec 2021, 14:01 But i don´t understand the syntax: "Servo,1,12,-45"

What ist "1" and "12" for?
That is explained in that documentation, the servo-id can be 1 or 2, and 12 is the GPIO pin the servo is connected to. This implies there can be max. 2 servos active at the same time.
/Ton (PayPal.me)

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 9874
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: add SG90 servo

#6 Post by TD-er » 28 Dec 2021, 15:10

That index may be outdated.
For ESP32 that number is for sure no longer limited to 2, but not 100% sure about ESP8266.
I guess it only needs the GPIO now and the servo index is left for compatibility reasons.

sartam
Normal user
Posts: 50
Joined: 13 Mar 2022, 21:25

Re: add SG90 servo

#7 Post by sartam » 06 Apr 2022, 16:06

Hello. I tried to use the instructions here, but got the answer "failed". What has changed when working with a servo?

User avatar
Ath
Normal user
Posts: 4330
Joined: 10 Jun 2018, 12:06
Location: NL

Re: add SG90 servo

#8 Post by Ath » 06 Apr 2022, 16:18

What ESPEasy build are you using?
What plugins have you activated?
What commands or rules are you using?
/Ton (PayPal.me)

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 9874
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: add SG90 servo

#9 Post by TD-er » 06 Apr 2022, 16:26

I think the "what build" is the most important question, as the servo code is not included in all builds

sartam
Normal user
Posts: 50
Joined: 13 Mar 2022, 21:25

Re: add SG90 servo

#10 Post by sartam » 06 Apr 2022, 16:28

ESP_Easy_mega_20211224_display_ESP8266_4M1M Dec 24 2021
I give the command servo,1,12,-45 from the rules, from the command line

sartam
Normal user
Posts: 50
Joined: 13 Mar 2022, 21:25

Re: add SG90 servo

#11 Post by sartam » 06 Apr 2022, 16:32

I got an interesting effect when I applied PWM,14,100 to the servo's input. the servo started to rotate continuously :)

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 9874
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: add SG90 servo

#12 Post by TD-er » 06 Apr 2022, 16:36

A servo pulse is a bit different from normal PWM as in the duty cycle is extremely small and the frequency is also relatively low.
So you really need a build with "servo" included.

User avatar
ManS-H
Normal user
Posts: 286
Joined: 27 Dec 2015, 11:26
Location: the Netherlands

Re: add SG90 servo

#13 Post by ManS-H » 15 Dec 2024, 12:34

Which version should I select if I want to work with servo sg90. I can no longer see the wood for the trees in the files

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 9874
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: add SG90 servo

#14 Post by TD-er » 15 Dec 2024, 12:40

Yep it has indeed been a bit 'muddy' with all those extra defines to make it all fit.

It should at least be present in 'normal' builds and looking at the code, it should be present in the 'display' build for ESP8266.

There is no plugin for Servo, just the commands.
See: https://espeasy.readthedocs.io/en/lates ... motor.html

Maybe better to use the latest builds, as I know Ton did enable it recently for more builds.
https://td-er.nl/ESPEasy/latest/

User avatar
Ath
Normal user
Posts: 4330
Joined: 10 Jun 2018, 12:06
Location: NL

Re: add SG90 servo

#15 Post by Ath » 15 Dec 2024, 15:32

The SERVO feature is enabled in nearly all builds since about 1 month.
Exceptions are the MINIMAL and 1MB Flash-size builds for ESP8266.
/Ton (PayPal.me)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Ahrefs [Bot], Amazon [Bot] and 19 guests