The ESP32-C3 (supermini) does not create AP

Moderators: grovkillen, Stuntteam, TD-er

Post Reply
Message
Author
sanc0
Normal user
Posts: 17
Joined: 18 Oct 2022, 12:16

The ESP32-C3 (supermini) does not create AP

#1 Post by sanc0 » 27 Feb 2025, 15:26

Hi
The ESP32-C3 (supermini) does not create an access point.

Code: Select all

04.391 : (220024) Info   : WiFi : WiFiConnected(), start AP
04.392 : (219976) Info   : WIFI : Set WiFi to OFF
04.611 : (246140) Info   : WIFI : Set WiFi to AP
05.692 : (216032) Info   : WIFI : AP Mode enabled. SSID: Energy IP: 192.168.4.1 ch: 1
05.694 : (215920) Info   : WIFI : Arduino wifi status: WL_STOPPED 254 ESPeasy internal wifi status: DISCONNECTED
05.697 : (210796) Info   : Webserver: start
07.054 : (210540) Info   : WD   : Uptime 0  ConnectFailures 0 FreeMem 210684 WiFiStatus: WL_STOPPED 254 ESPeasy internal wifi status: DISCONNECTED
I tested different versions with the same result.
I assume it's due to some libraries because even Tasmota can't create AP. The hardware is fine because the wled AP creates and works.

Any solutions? Thanks
Sanco

User avatar
Ath
Normal user
Posts: 4329
Joined: 10 Jun 2018, 12:06
Location: NL

Re: The ESP32-C3 (supermini) does not create AP

#2 Post by Ath » 27 Feb 2025, 15:47

Seems like you are using some kind of terminal (Putty?) to connect to the unit. That's helpful, as you can type commands in that terminal to start the WiFi:

Code: Select all

WiFiSsid,yourWiFi_SSID
WiFiKey,your_supersecret_WiFipassword
save
After the save command, the unit will attempt to connect to WiFi using these credentials. If connecting succeeds, you'll see the IP address that is assigned by DHCP.
NB: Commands won't be visible in the terminal until you press Enter (or some form of autoecho is enabled in your terminal)
/Ton (PayPal.me)

User avatar
Ath
Normal user
Posts: 4329
Joined: 10 Jun 2018, 12:06
Location: NL

Re: The ESP32-C3 (supermini) does not create AP

#3 Post by Ath » 27 Feb 2025, 15:51

Oh, and we have seen, also reported by other users, that some of these C3-zero and C3-supermini units are of very poor quality, causing issues like this.
/Ton (PayPal.me)

sanc0
Normal user
Posts: 17
Joined: 18 Oct 2022, 12:16

Re: The ESP32-C3 (supermini) does not create AP

#4 Post by sanc0 » 27 Feb 2025, 15:59

Thank you for the advice on how to set up a wifi connection using commands. It already works for me.
Sanco

User avatar
Ath
Normal user
Posts: 4329
Joined: 10 Jun 2018, 12:06
Location: NL

Re: The ESP32-C3 (supermini) does not create AP

#5 Post by Ath » 27 Feb 2025, 16:46

sanc0 wrote: 27 Feb 2025, 15:59 Thank you for the advice on how to set up a wifi connection using commands. It already works for me.
Sanco
Great, thanks for the feedback :)
/Ton (PayPal.me)

Rob73
Normal user
Posts: 79
Joined: 25 May 2022, 15:05

Re: The ESP32-C3 (supermini) does not create AP

#6 Post by Rob73 » 04 Mar 2025, 06:35

Does anyone have suggestions on which supermini units are good to use? Most of my projects dont need a lot of io pins, so I favor the smaller form factor of those units. I have a few waveshare minis that I am not happy with, they may be s3 units. I feel that they run extremely hot.

Rob

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 9874
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: The ESP32-C3 (supermini) does not create AP

#7 Post by TD-er » 04 Mar 2025, 08:30

Those from SEEED Studio (3x "E") are quite stable and some have an external WiFI antenna which often allows for way stronger wifi.
https://www.aliexpress.com/w/wholesale- ... esp32.html

When the ESP runs hot, maybe you should take a look at the WiFi TX power.
You can see it on the sysinfo page, or try to 'trace' it using the system info plugin, as it tends to vary a lot.
Is there something connected to the 3V3 which might draw quite some power?

User avatar
chromo23
Normal user
Posts: 1001
Joined: 10 Sep 2020, 16:02
Location: germany

Re: The ESP32-C3 (supermini) does not create AP

#8 Post by chromo23 » 04 Mar 2025, 10:22

sanc0 wrote: 27 Feb 2025, 15:26 The ESP32-C3 (supermini) does not create an access point.
Hey, I use a few of these ESP32-C3 Supermini myself. Some for testing, some as daily drivers for sensors.
I really love them because they don't use a lot of power (compared to other ESP32s) and ESPEasy feels really snappy on them.
I've tried to reproduce your issue, but I can't reproduce it with any of them. The AP starts fine and I can access ESPEasy with it.
Just to be sure, I am using these:
esp32c3sm.png
esp32c3sm.png (51.74 KiB) Viewed 2809 times
EDIT: But I agree, they are a little bit on the hot side with 50°C when encased.

EDIT2: Edited the quote as I addressed the wrong person

Rob73
Normal user
Posts: 79
Joined: 25 May 2022, 15:05

Re: The ESP32-C3 (supermini) does not create AP

#9 Post by Rob73 » 04 Mar 2025, 19:32

I like the xiao esp32 units. The ones with the external wifi antenna are pretty nice units.
I will do some tests with the waveshare units I have that get hot. I bought a 3 pack i believe. I have never even hooked anything to them because they get hot and I never used them.
I will put together a little test rig to let them run and do some tests with them to see what I can find out.
Honestly, I figured I got a batch of duds. I like the small form factor, but they just kind of stay in the parts bin.


Rob

Rob73
Normal user
Posts: 79
Joined: 25 May 2022, 15:05

Re: The ESP32-C3 (supermini) does not create AP

#10 Post by Rob73 » 05 Mar 2025, 02:52

My waveshare s3 starts out around 55 deg c internal temperature. I turned the wifi off and the temp drops quickly to about 47 deg c. Over about 30 minutes it drops to 33 deg c & it will hold steady around there. The unit is basically idling the whole time, it was on a clean flash. It is the wifi on these modules that are making all that heat.

It just seems hot for a small module. My seeduino xiao units run around 47- 48 deg c under normal conditions.

Rob

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 9874
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: The ESP32-C3 (supermini) does not create AP

#11 Post by TD-er » 05 Mar 2025, 08:50

The internal temperature sensor of the ESP32's (especially the ESP32-classic) isn't that accurate and should only be used to measure relative temperature changes like you did with turning off WiFi.

If the sensor is actually 50C, then it would be barely touchable for a longer time. (the sensor would cool by touching it though)

Rob73
Normal user
Posts: 79
Joined: 25 May 2022, 15:05

Re: The ESP32-C3 (supermini) does not create AP

#12 Post by Rob73 » 06 Mar 2025, 07:36

They get very hot to the touch when it says its 50c or over. I let it run for 24 hours and it reports that is 27c.
Despite the level of accuracy, i think those units run a little hotter than what i would like. The xiao units are never hot to the touch, they usually show around a 30 deg temp.
When I enable the wifi on the waveshare unit, it took about 20 minutes but the temp crept back up to the 50 range again.
Not a huge problem for me, I like the external antenna option on the xiao units anyway.

Rob

sanc0
Normal user
Posts: 17
Joined: 18 Oct 2022, 12:16

Re: The ESP32-C3 (supermini) does not create AP

#13 Post by sanc0 » 02 Apr 2025, 07:26

chromo23 wrote: 04 Mar 2025, 10:22
I've tried to reproduce your issue, but I can't reproduce it with any of them. The AP starts fine and I can access ESPEasy with it.
Hi. They were brand new modules (yes, exactly the same supermini as in your picture, 3 pcs), without peripherals, powered via USB C, programmed via web installer (usb mode). AP worked without problems only on WLED. ESPEASY and TASMOTA did not.
I bought 3 more from Tenstar Robot (Aliexpress), with a better board design (the crystal is further from the antenna).
I'll test it.
Sanco

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 9874
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: The ESP32-C3 (supermini) does not create AP

#14 Post by TD-er » 02 Apr 2025, 09:06

WLED does not yet use the latest ESP-IDF5.x
Tasmota and ESPEasy do use the latest Arduino/ESP-IDF5.x code.
So maybe there is some related issue in the latest ESP-IDF code.

User avatar
Ath
Normal user
Posts: 4329
Joined: 10 Jun 2018, 12:06
Location: NL

Re: The ESP32-C3 (supermini) does not create AP

#15 Post by Ath » 08 Apr 2025, 20:07

Today, Hackaday published an item on a cheap and simple antenna-hack for boards with poor antenna-performance. It might be worth a try
/Ton (PayPal.me)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests