SendTo

Moderators: grovkillen, Stuntteam, TD-er

Post Reply
Message
Author
BertB
Normal user
Posts: 1049
Joined: 25 Apr 2015, 14:39

SendTo

#1 Post by BertB » 15 Apr 2016, 17:20

@Martinus

Hi,
Can you explain in short, how we can use the SendTo command?

Martinus

Re: SendTo

#2 Post by Martinus » 15 Apr 2016, 17:48

BertB wrote:@Martinus

Hi,
Can you explain in short, how we can use the SendTo command?
You can send commands to a remote ESP unit. This can be useful for standalone ESP units without any MQTT brokers, HA controllers and such.
Build just simple basic Home automation with just two ESP modules.

Assume two ESP's, set as Unit 1 and Unit 2.
Enter this command on unit 1, will turn on GPIO 2 on unit 2:

Code: Select all

sendTo 2,GPIO,2,1
You can use this in the rules tab as an action.

Suppose an event on unit 1 needs to set an output on unit 2:

rules tab on unit 1:

Code: Select all

on demoEvent do
  sendTo 2,GPIO,2,1
endon
Or you could create an event on the remote unit:

Code: Select all

on demoEvent do
  sendTo 2,event,givemesomewater
endon
The rules tab on the remote unit needs to be configured to do something based on this event.

All inspired by the good old Nodo...

BertB
Normal user
Posts: 1049
Joined: 25 Apr 2015, 14:39

Re: SendTo

#3 Post by BertB » 15 Apr 2016, 23:24

Thanks. Works very fine.

tozett
Normal user
Posts: 734
Joined: 22 Dec 2015, 15:46
Location: Germany

Re: SendTo

#4 Post by tozett » 19 Apr 2016, 12:44

Very cool,
the Wiki should Show this fantasic function... 8-)

tozett
Normal user
Posts: 734
Joined: 22 Dec 2015, 15:46
Location: Germany

Re: SendTo

#5 Post by tozett » 19 Apr 2016, 13:11

That arise s another question:
Can I have a minimal Setup with two ESP units, where one is an AP, the others a client.
Anybody knows this?
That would be cooool

BertB
Normal user
Posts: 1049
Joined: 25 Apr 2015, 14:39

Re: SendTo

#6 Post by BertB » 19 Apr 2016, 14:12

It shall Be done.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 13 guests