Nextion display plugin

Moderators: Voyager, BertB, rtenklooster, Stuntteam, grovkillen, TD-er

Message
Author
Wiki
Normal user
Posts: 87
Joined: 23 Apr 2018, 17:55

Re: Nextion display plugin

#451 Post by Wiki » 21 Nov 2018, 21:51

Which speed? Default setting of the Nextion display as well as the Nextion plugin is set to 9600.

To use 115200 baud I have added to the preinitialize event of page0 "baud=115200"
If you do so, you have to change the baud rate in your Wemos Devices Nextion from 9600 to 115200.

frank
Normal user
Posts: 82
Joined: 15 Oct 2016, 20:17
Location: Nederland

Re: Nextion display plugin

#452 Post by frank » 25 Nov 2018, 13:03

I want to order a Nextion display so i can use it on my BBQ controller. My question is does this plugin also works with the improved nextion display??

ThomasB
Normal user
Posts: 185
Joined: 17 Jun 2018, 20:41
Location: USA

Re: Nextion display plugin

#453 Post by ThomasB » 25 Nov 2018, 18:11

My question is does this plugin also works with the improved nextion display??
I have confirmed compatibility with the enhanced version. My evaluation used a NX4024K032-011.

- Thomas

frank
Normal user
Posts: 82
Joined: 15 Oct 2016, 20:17
Location: Nederland

Re: Nextion display plugin

#454 Post by frank » 25 Nov 2018, 18:24

ThomasB wrote:
25 Nov 2018, 18:11
My question is does this plugin also works with the improved nextion display??
I have confirmed compatibility with the enhanced version. My evaluation used a NX4024K032-011.

- Thomas
great thx

waspie
Normal user
Posts: 92
Joined: 09 Feb 2017, 19:35

Re: Nextion display plugin

#455 Post by waspie » 10 Dec 2018, 03:51

I haven't updated my ESPs running my nextions for a long time since they were working ok. I used a recent release and now a ton of stuff isn't working right


how do I sent commands to the nextion now?
it used to be just as simple as
nextion,dim=5

but that no longer is the case, how do i do this now?

tried NEXTION,
Nextion
nextion.

nothing works.

plugin is receiving button presses
***Edit*** it's the name of the task now, in my case "lr"

You guys could make a note of that?
Attachments
1.PNG
1.PNG (6.25 KiB) Viewed 1044 times
nextion.PNG
nextion.PNG (5.15 KiB) Viewed 1045 times

ThomasB
Normal user
Posts: 185
Joined: 17 Jun 2018, 20:41
Location: USA

Re: Nextion display plugin

#456 Post by ThomasB » 10 Dec 2018, 05:43

I tested the latest version (mega-20181207) and no issues were observed.

If your nextion device is named lr then the command used in your example would need to be

Code: Select all

lr,dim=5
- Thomas

homerruma
Normal user
Posts: 14
Joined: 21 Feb 2017, 12:48

Re: Nextion display plugin

#457 Post by homerruma » 10 Jan 2019, 14:28

waspie wrote:
25 Jul 2018, 18:03
to take advantage of H/W serial using the pin swap option it needs to be wired like this, correct?

NextionHwSerialPinout1.jpg
If this is ok then the scheme is on https://www.letscontrolit.com/wiki/inde ... le=Nextion is not good.
Image

This scheme shows that D7 (RXD2) na Nodemcu connected with NEXTION RX.

Wiki
Normal user
Posts: 87
Joined: 23 Apr 2018, 17:55

Re: Nextion display plugin

#458 Post by Wiki » 10 Jan 2019, 16:52

Hi,
RXD2 has to be connected to TX Nextion, TXD2 to RX Nextion.
I don't use a transistor due to the fact that the signals of the Nextion are 3.3V.

ThomasB
Normal user
Posts: 185
Joined: 17 Jun 2018, 20:41
Location: USA

Re: Nextion display plugin

#459 Post by ThomasB » 10 Jan 2019, 17:10

@homerruma: Thank you for reporting the error. The image has been corrected.

@wiki: Nextion and ESP8266 are indeed 3.3V devices. But the transistor is not intended to convert the logic level. It is a buffer that is used to ensure that the ESP8266 can boot-up. Without it there is a strong chance the ESP8266 will hang on a reset.

- Thomas

homerruma
Normal user
Posts: 14
Joined: 21 Feb 2017, 12:48

Re: Nextion display plugin

#460 Post by homerruma » 10 Jan 2019, 18:28

As I see on the link https://www.letscontrolit.com/wiki/inde ... le=Nextion the image is not corrected.
Still stands RX Nodemcu at RX Nektion.

Imagenextion2 by homerruma3, on Flickr

Wiki
Normal user
Posts: 87
Joined: 23 Apr 2018, 17:55

Re: Nextion display plugin

#461 Post by Wiki » 10 Jan 2019, 20:50

ThomasB wrote:
10 Jan 2019, 17:10
....But the transistor is not intended to convert the logic level. It is a buffer that is used to ensure that the ESP8266 can boot-up. Without it there is a strong chance the ESP8266 will hang on a reset.
Oh yes, you are right, now I remember.

Sometimes there are some benefits in the procedure first think before write. Thanks for the reminder...

ThomasB
Normal user
Posts: 185
Joined: 17 Jun 2018, 20:41
Location: USA

Re: Nextion display plugin

#462 Post by ThomasB » 11 Jan 2019, 00:01

As I see on the link https://www.letscontrolit.com/wiki/inde ... le=Nextion the image is not corrected.
Still stands RX Nodemcu at RX Nektion.
Hmm, I see the correct drawing in my browser.

Try refreshing your browser cache to regenerate the Nextion Wiki page. Usually the F5 key will do a refresh (works in FireFox). A refresh should populate the recently uploaded image.

- Thomas

homerruma
Normal user
Posts: 14
Joined: 21 Feb 2017, 12:48

Re: Nextion display plugin

#463 Post by homerruma » 11 Jan 2019, 00:13

I've refreshed the page. Now I closed it and reopened it, I can not see the changes.
Definitely everything is old.
Ask the third party to confirm.

ThomasB
Normal user
Posts: 185
Joined: 17 Jun 2018, 20:41
Location: USA

Re: Nextion display plugin

#464 Post by ThomasB » 11 Jan 2019, 00:38

Hopefully someone in the audience can confirm the wiki page has the new drawing.

I retested the Nextion wiki page using three different WIN10 PC workstations. And I viewed the page using FF, Edge, IE, and chrome browsers. They all show the latest image.

Here's a screenshot:
nextion_screenshot.jpg
nextion_screenshot.jpg (176.44 KiB) Viewed 797 times

I have an idea. Try this test: Go to this wiki image folder: https://www.letscontrolit.com/wiki/inde ... r1_450.jpg

You will see two images in the file history. The original (depreciated) July-30-2018 and the corrected image from today, Jan-10-2019. The corrected image is the one that is targeted by the Nextion Wiki page. If you don't see both images then that would indicate that there is a wiki server cache issue; Check again in a few hours.

- Thomas

homerruma
Normal user
Posts: 14
Joined: 21 Feb 2017, 12:48

Re: Nextion display plugin

#465 Post by homerruma » 11 Jan 2019, 00:56

This time, Chrome vs Firefox
Imagechrome vs firefox by homerruma3, on Flickr

homerruma
Normal user
Posts: 14
Joined: 21 Feb 2017, 12:48

Re: Nextion display plugin

#466 Post by homerruma » 11 Jan 2019, 00:59

Yes, it's corrected
Imagenextion file history by homerruma3, on Flickr

ThomasB
Normal user
Posts: 185
Joined: 17 Jun 2018, 20:41
Location: USA

Re: Nextion display plugin

#467 Post by ThomasB » 11 Jan 2019, 01:08

To refresh chrome's cache you should hold Ctrl and press F5.
https://www.getfilecloud.com/blog/2015/ ... DfeN817kaY

- Thomas

homerruma
Normal user
Posts: 14
Joined: 21 Feb 2017, 12:48

Re: Nextion display plugin

#468 Post by homerruma » 11 Jan 2019, 12:26

Thank you.

User avatar
VernonBriz
Normal user
Posts: 1
Joined: 21 Mar 2019, 12:30

Re: Nextion display plugin

#469 Post by VernonBriz » 21 Mar 2019, 12:53

ThomasB wrote:
31 Oct 2018, 02:40
I've never used the Ser2Net plugin, but maybe it could be used to assist with flashing the Nextion? Or maybe a spinoff of Ser2Net that has been altered to support Nextion's hardware serial wiring scheme. Minor code tweaks shouldn't be a problem, but a major code rewrite would be a deal killer for me.

Ideally we would need a virtual com port on our developer PC that the Nextion IDE could use to redirect its com port to TCP for flashing. Something like this (randomly found with Google):
https://www.hvv-group.com/softwera/hw-v ... erial-port

It would be great if a Nextion plugin user that has experience with Ser2Net would chime in and offer some insight on this idea.

- Thomas
Hi! I understand that I may not be in the subject, but I would advise you to use the serial to ethernet connector https://www.eltima.com/products/serial-over-ethernet/ program, since It will be more formatted and better. During the data transfer period, you will receive a full signaling branch.
Peace
Vernon

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests