Intigrating ESP Easy to Cayenne

Moderators: grovkillen, Stuntteam, TD-er

Post Reply
Message
Author
Bronden
Normal user
Posts: 1
Joined: 31 Oct 2017, 20:18

Intigrating ESP Easy to Cayenne

#1 Post by Bronden » 31 Oct 2017, 20:26

Hi. I was wondering if anyone hire would have the skillset to add the IOT portal Cayenne / https://mydevices.com/ to the supported portals.

The Cayenne project has a very nice interface, a very good app and is just a delight to work with. Combined with Esp Easy it would be Very powerfull!

Hope for some feedback. Or maybe som inputs on howto do it.

Cayenne also runs MQTT.

panchovilla
Normal user
Posts: 1
Joined: 01 Nov 2017, 16:41

Re: Intigrating ESP Easy to Cayenne

#2 Post by panchovilla » 01 Nov 2017, 16:44

I think that is a great idea. I am trying to find a way to implement it into Cayenne, but unfortunately I don't have the skills to do it....

mstjerna
Normal user
Posts: 10
Joined: 17 Jan 2018, 16:43

Re: Intigrating ESP Easy to Cayenne

#3 Post by mstjerna » 17 Jan 2018, 20:53

Hi

I would also love a integration to Cayenne!
The issue today if I chose generic MQTT integration in the ESPEasy is that the key-length for Cayenne is longer than the webinterface allows.
I think this would be a easy task for the right person to add, maybe as a new entry in the "Controllers page"

The cayenne have a generic ESP8266 library created so it should be possible to just borrow/implement parts of this directly to the ESPEasy...
https://github.com/myDevicesIoT/Cayenne-MQTT-ESP

One issue with the current ESPEasy is the lengt of "Mqtt Username", "Mqtt Password" and "Client ID", Cayenne uses 36, 40, 36 char
There is a topic on the ESPEasy GIT that thiscuss some changes to the MQTT but the length isn't part of this as I can see?
https://github.com/letscontrolit/ESPEasy/issues/378

There are also changes planned for 2.1.0 but I don't know if this would be resolved?
2.1.0 (planned)
Security
Revamp MQTT handling (send cmd to "all" and "group", not only single unit)
Generic MQTT handling (+QoS)

Image

I would love to see this implemented as a generic feature in the ESPEasy or as a seperate plugin. Cayenne seems to be a great service for the people that don't have the time or skill to setup a RaspberyPI with Openhab or any other HomeAutomation software...

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 2793
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Intigrating ESP Easy to Cayenne

#4 Post by TD-er » 18 Jan 2018, 11:16

I was working on MQTT issues last night and I guess -judging on the issues added today- I will be tonight.
So please add these requests to the corresponding github issues and use thumbs-up tags to make it easier to sort for me ;)

Problem with longer strings in the settings is that it renders stored configurations unusable.
So that's kind of a thing.
Maybe we should also think about how to solve that.

User avatar
EDsteve
Normal user
Posts: 52
Joined: 11 May 2018, 21:13

Re: Intigrating ESP Easy to Cayenne

#5 Post by EDsteve » 17 Jun 2020, 06:12

I don't think it has because i know how busy you guys are. But i would also love to have a Cayenne integration. Did anything happen in that direction?
mstjerna wrote:
17 Jan 2018, 20:53
The issue today if I chose generic MQTT integration in the ESPEasy is that the key-length for Cayenne is longer than the webinterface allows.
Is that still same situation? I can't even find the option "generic MQTT integration" :D

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 2793
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Intigrating ESP Easy to Cayenne

#6 Post by TD-er » 17 Jun 2020, 09:07

The controllers now have the option for "extended credentials"
This allows for longer username/pass

User avatar
EDsteve
Normal user
Posts: 52
Joined: 11 May 2018, 21:13

Re: Intigrating ESP Easy to Cayenne

#7 Post by EDsteve » 17 Jun 2020, 10:41

Do you know by any chance which controller i should choose to send data to Cayenne? Someone talked about "Generic MQTT"... But i don't see that in the last built.

User avatar
grovkillen
Core team member
Posts: 3607
Joined: 19 Jan 2017, 12:56
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Intigrating ESP Easy to Cayenne

#8 Post by grovkillen » 17 Jun 2020, 12:07

Try the open hab one.
ESP Easy Flasher [flash tool and wifi setup at flash time]
ESP Easy Webdumper [easy screendumping of your units]
ESP Easy Netscan [find units]
Official shop: https://firstbyte.shop/
Sponsor ESP Easy, we need you :idea: :idea: :idea:

User avatar
EDsteve
Normal user
Posts: 52
Joined: 11 May 2018, 21:13

Re: Intigrating ESP Easy to Cayenne

#9 Post by EDsteve » 18 Jun 2020, 05:45

TD-er wrote:
17 Jun 2020, 09:07
The controllers now have the option for "extended credentials"
This allows for longer username/pass
Hmm. Doesn't seem to work on my side. I am running the mega-20200608 and when i input the Controller User. It cuts off 30% or so. Is that only a GUI problem or still not fixed?
Attachments
extended.png
extended.png (9.59 KiB) Viewed 431 times

User avatar
grovkillen
Core team member
Posts: 3607
Joined: 19 Jan 2017, 12:56
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Intigrating ESP Easy to Cayenne

#10 Post by grovkillen » 18 Jun 2020, 05:49

It's only visual, it should work.
ESP Easy Flasher [flash tool and wifi setup at flash time]
ESP Easy Webdumper [easy screendumping of your units]
ESP Easy Netscan [find units]
Official shop: https://firstbyte.shop/
Sponsor ESP Easy, we need you :idea: :idea: :idea:

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 2793
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Intigrating ESP Easy to Cayenne

#11 Post by TD-er » 18 Jun 2020, 11:52

Have you reloaded the page after turning on the extended credentials? (and saving)
It could be the input field uses a max. length which is set based on the state of that checkbox at loading the page.

User avatar
EDsteve
Normal user
Posts: 52
Joined: 11 May 2018, 21:13

Re: Intigrating ESP Easy to Cayenne

#12 Post by EDsteve » 19 Jun 2020, 06:24

Yes. The extended credentials works fine. *Thumbs up*

The same clientID for two devices will not work (I did that for testing and it took me a while to figure out what actually was the problem)

At the end i managed to receive data on Cayenne. Here my settings in case somebody else needs it:
Attachments
Opera Snapshot_2020-06-19_124632_192.168.8.217.png
Opera Snapshot_2020-06-19_124632_192.168.8.217.png (37.41 KiB) Viewed 370 times
Opera Snapshot_2020-06-19_124805_192.168.8.217.png
Opera Snapshot_2020-06-19_124805_192.168.8.217.png (53.61 KiB) Viewed 370 times

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests