Soil moisture

Moderators: Voyager, BertB, rtenklooster, Stuntteam, grovkillen, TD-er

Post Reply
Message
Author
jme
Normal user
Posts: 29
Joined: 11 Apr 2018, 14:20

Soil moisture

#1 Post by jme » 17 Apr 2018, 15:00

Hi,

Anyone know if this soil moisture sensor is compatible with ESP easy ?

How do i have to set it up ?

Image

Same for this water level sensor ?

Image

Thx in advance

User avatar
toffel969
Normal user
Posts: 468
Joined: 03 Jan 2017, 10:58
Location: Germany

Re: Soil moisture

#2 Post by toffel969 » 17 Apr 2018, 16:33

For the first one a definite yes. You can use the analog output to adc or the digital to any other gpio. The threshold is set up with the poti.
Domoticz on Raspi 2 -- 14 ESP units (hacked Sonoff,NodeMCUs, Wemos, self-built units) running with RC140- Mega 2.0.0 dev8

Drum
Normal user
Posts: 262
Joined: 07 Feb 2016, 11:56

Re: Soil moisture

#3 Post by Drum » 18 Apr 2018, 20:29

From my understanding, the soil moisture sensor you have shown does not last very long in use. There are a couple of capacitive soil moisture sensors which should work longer if you can keep them sealed from moisture. Their accuracy is very dependent on a stable voltage

https://www.dfrobot.com/product-1385.html
https://www.tindie.com/products/miceuz/ ... re-sensor/
https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/soil ... rduino-diy#/
https://www.tindie.com/products/aprbrot ... rod_search

The have used a previous version of the last one after replacing the battery with a 18650 and voltage regulator. The new version has a different temp sensor which may not be supported by espeasy, and a clever switch operated by gpio which allows you to also monitor the battery voltage, as the ADC is also used to measure the soil moisture. This also should allow an correction to the soil moistur reading as the battery voltage drops. Adapting a plugin is not very hard.

The others I have not used.

User avatar
grovkillen
Normal user
Posts: 2886
Joined: 19 Jan 2017, 12:56
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Soil moisture

#4 Post by grovkillen » 18 Apr 2018, 20:49

I think many use the fork soil sensor incorrectly (don't hold this against me if I'm wrong, I don't have one myself) by letting them operate 24/7. The DC current will make the cathode loose the metallic part fairly fast if operated 100% of the time. I would suspect the life time to increase if you only let them run for lets say 30 seconds twice an hour?
ESP Easy Flasher [flash tool and wifi setup at flash time]
ESP Easy Webdumper [easy screendumping of your units]
ESP Easy Netscan [find units]
Official shop: https://firstbyte.shop/
Sponsor ESP Easy, we need you :idea: :idea: :idea:

User avatar
toffel969
Normal user
Posts: 468
Joined: 03 Jan 2017, 10:58
Location: Germany

Re: Soil moisture

#5 Post by toffel969 » 18 Apr 2018, 22:22

grovkillen wrote:
18 Apr 2018, 20:49
I think many use the fork soil sensor incorrectly (don't hold this against me if I'm wrong, I don't have one myself) by letting them operate 24/7. The DC current will make the cathode loose the metallic part fairly fast if operated 100% of the time. I would suspect the life time to increase if you only let them run for lets say 30 seconds twice an hour?
That would be preferable indeed. With task run, there should actually be a way to achieve that with rules.
However, I replaced the fork of this sensor by a stainless steel one, lasts for 9 months already without visible corrosion. It's an "ok" solution.
Domoticz on Raspi 2 -- 14 ESP units (hacked Sonoff,NodeMCUs, Wemos, self-built units) running with RC140- Mega 2.0.0 dev8

jme
Normal user
Posts: 29
Joined: 11 Apr 2018, 14:20

Re: Soil moisture

#6 Post by jme » 19 Apr 2018, 14:29

Thx for your answers
For the first one a definite yes. You can use the analog output to adc or the digital to any other gpio. The threshold is set up with the poti.
Which device type do i have to choose in Esp easy ?

User avatar
toffel969
Normal user
Posts: 468
Joined: 03 Jan 2017, 10:58
Location: Germany

Re: Soil moisture

#7 Post by toffel969 » 19 Apr 2018, 16:19

jme wrote:
19 Apr 2018, 14:29
Thx for your answers
For the first one a definite yes. You can use the analog output to adc or the digital to any other gpio. The threshold is set up with the poti.
Which device type do i have to choose in Esp easy ?
Analog input.
https://www.letscontrolit.com/wiki/index.php/Analog
Domoticz on Raspi 2 -- 14 ESP units (hacked Sonoff,NodeMCUs, Wemos, self-built units) running with RC140- Mega 2.0.0 dev8

jme
Normal user
Posts: 29
Joined: 11 Apr 2018, 14:20

Re: Soil moisture

#8 Post by jme » 24 Apr 2018, 23:01

Yes that works :-)

One more question if i put the soil moisture sensor in water i get a value of 326.

If i remove it from water i havea value of 960.

how cani convert it to percent ? 100% wet, 0%dry ?

jme
Normal user
Posts: 29
Joined: 11 Apr 2018, 14:20

Re: Soil moisture

#9 Post by jme » 24 Apr 2018, 23:54

if i want to use the digital input, wich device type do i have to set up in espeasy?

User avatar
grovkillen
Normal user
Posts: 2886
Joined: 19 Jan 2017, 12:56
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Soil moisture

#10 Post by grovkillen » 25 Apr 2018, 06:10

A switch which it essentially is then, high signal when the level is above the set level (adjusted by the potentiometer).
ESP Easy Flasher [flash tool and wifi setup at flash time]
ESP Easy Webdumper [easy screendumping of your units]
ESP Easy Netscan [find units]
Official shop: https://firstbyte.shop/
Sponsor ESP Easy, we need you :idea: :idea: :idea:

krikk
Normal user
Posts: 115
Joined: 28 Feb 2017, 07:57
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: Soil moisture

#11 Post by krikk » 28 Apr 2018, 11:43

another very interesting sensor would be this one:

https://ex-store.de/Kapazitiver-Feuchti ... altausgang

...but its unavailable because he works on a new (better) revision which should be release in may??

User avatar
grovkillen
Normal user
Posts: 2886
Joined: 19 Jan 2017, 12:56
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Soil moisture

#12 Post by grovkillen » 28 Apr 2018, 11:56

Cool, let's hope the new version cost about the same.
ESP Easy Flasher [flash tool and wifi setup at flash time]
ESP Easy Webdumper [easy screendumping of your units]
ESP Easy Netscan [find units]
Official shop: https://firstbyte.shop/
Sponsor ESP Easy, we need you :idea: :idea: :idea:

User avatar
dynamicdave
Normal user
Posts: 105
Joined: 30 Jan 2017, 20:25
Location: Hampshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Soil moisture

#13 Post by dynamicdave » 29 Apr 2018, 09:39

Hi,
I use the first version of the mositure sensor.
I don't use the digital output. I use the voltage or analogue output.
The voltage output connects to the analogue input on an ESP8266 (Wemos D1 Mini).

I've mounted the Wemos D1 Mini on a small breadboard and routed the +3v3 for the moisture sensor via a transistor (that acts as switch).

The ESP8266 talks to Node-Red via MQTT which means I can send a message to turn-on the transistor (and power-up) the moisture sensor for a few seconds every 15-minutes or so.

Cheers from Dynamic Dave

User avatar
dynamicdave
Normal user
Posts: 105
Joined: 30 Jan 2017, 20:25
Location: Hampshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Soil moisture

#14 Post by dynamicdave » 29 Apr 2018, 09:49

Here's a link to a PDF instruction sheet that I made for the IoT Club where I work as a tutor.
It covers the practical steps involved in setting up the mositure sensor.

http://youtrain.me.uk/iotclub/pdf/rs_11.pdf

Cheers from David

acsservices
Normal user
Posts: 1
Joined: 10 Apr 2019, 18:59

Re: Soil moisture

#15 Post by acsservices » 10 Apr 2019, 19:09

Drum wrote:
18 Apr 2018, 20:29
From my understanding, the Soils testing Phoenix moisture sensor you have shown does not last very long in use. There are a couple of capacitive soil moisture sensors which should work longer if you can keep them sealed from moisture. Their accuracy is very dependent on a stable voltage

https://www.dfrobot.com/product-1385.html
https://www.tindie.com/products/miceuz/ ... re-sensor/
https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/soil ... rduino-diy#/
https://www.tindie.com/products/aprbrot ... rod_search

The have used a previous version of the last one after replacing the battery with a 18650 and voltage regulator. The new version has a different temp sensor which may not be supported by espeasy, and a clever switch operated by gpio which allows you to also monitor the battery voltage, as the ADC is also used to measure the soil moisture. This also should allow an correction to the soil moistur reading as the battery voltage drops. Adapting a plugin is not very hard.

The others I have not used.
Thanks for sharing this information.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 3 guests