Senseair sensors

Announcements from the Staff

Moderators: rtenklooster, BertB, Voyager, Stuntteam

Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
grovkillen
Core team member
Posts: 3332
Joined: 19 Jan 2017, 12:56
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Senseair sensors

#1 Post by grovkillen » 04 May 2018, 22:13

Hello,

If you are interested in Senseair sensors I have now started my own webshop. At the moment I only have S8 in stock but if many are interested in K30 I will make sure to get them as well.

https://firstbyte.shop/

For those who don't know it I work at Senseair and have been for the past 2 years. After getting request to buy stuff directly from me, and I had to direct them to ebay/ali I now decided to start selling them myself. I'm now an official small quantity order reseller for Senseair and I can assure you that these sensors are delivered to you with only myself laying my hands on them. I will personally bring them from the factory and send them to you, top notch products for your top notch project. :)

I might be able to give you a discount if you want to order more than one. PM me for more info.
ESP Easy Flasher [flash tool and wifi setup at flash time]
ESP Easy Webdumper [easy screendumping of your units]
ESP Easy Netscan [find units]
Official shop: https://firstbyte.shop/
Sponsor ESP Easy, we need you :idea: :idea: :idea:

User avatar
grovkillen
Core team member
Posts: 3332
Joined: 19 Jan 2017, 12:56
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Senseair sensors

#2 Post by grovkillen » 09 May 2018, 10:47

I created a discount for ESP Easy users ;) "ESPEasyFTW" is the discount code, apply at checkout or use this link below:

https://firstbyte.shop/discount/ESPEasy ... ducts%2Fs8
ESP Easy Flasher [flash tool and wifi setup at flash time]
ESP Easy Webdumper [easy screendumping of your units]
ESP Easy Netscan [find units]
Official shop: https://firstbyte.shop/
Sponsor ESP Easy, we need you :idea: :idea: :idea:

fluppie
Normal user
Posts: 81
Joined: 09 Oct 2015, 13:23

Re: Senseair sensors

#3 Post by fluppie » 08 Jun 2018, 20:31

Bought one :). Nice that someone from Senseair is on this forums :)

User avatar
grovkillen
Core team member
Posts: 3332
Joined: 19 Jan 2017, 12:56
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Senseair sensors

#4 Post by grovkillen » 08 Jun 2018, 21:04

I noticed... I just popped a beer and I got a very nice ring on my phone. Philippe in Belgium just bought a sensor! :)
ESP Easy Flasher [flash tool and wifi setup at flash time]
ESP Easy Webdumper [easy screendumping of your units]
ESP Easy Netscan [find units]
Official shop: https://firstbyte.shop/
Sponsor ESP Easy, we need you :idea: :idea: :idea:

manjh
Normal user
Posts: 441
Joined: 08 Feb 2016, 11:22

Re: Senseair sensors

#5 Post by manjh » 25 Jul 2018, 15:17

I have been using this smart little "lab-on-a-chip" for some time now, and notice something strange.
The enclosure in which this sensor is housed also contains a BME280 and a PY dustsensor. To ensure good airflow, I mounted a fan.
Unfortunately this fan makes some noise, so my wife is not happy when I leave it running for a long time, the unit has to move around the house to keep track of air quality, which is OK.

But I noticed that the S8 sensor sometimes takes a loooong time to provide a reading. It remains on zero. Eventually, it will start working again but this may take many minutes.
What can be wrong?

User avatar
grovkillen
Core team member
Posts: 3332
Joined: 19 Jan 2017, 12:56
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Senseair sensors

#6 Post by grovkillen » 25 Jul 2018, 15:29

They shouldn't be giving you that (zero reading). I will ask my colleagues once I get back to work.
ESP Easy Flasher [flash tool and wifi setup at flash time]
ESP Easy Webdumper [easy screendumping of your units]
ESP Easy Netscan [find units]
Official shop: https://firstbyte.shop/
Sponsor ESP Easy, we need you :idea: :idea: :idea:

manjh
Normal user
Posts: 441
Joined: 08 Feb 2016, 11:22

Re: Senseair sensors

#7 Post by manjh » 27 Jul 2018, 18:59

grovkillen wrote:
25 Jul 2018, 15:29
They shouldn't be giving you that (zero reading). I will ask my colleagues once I get back to work.
Sounds good, enjoy your vacation first.
The sensor is giving me a valid reading again, although it took more than a full day to do that.

manjh
Normal user
Posts: 441
Joined: 08 Feb 2016, 11:22

Re: Senseair sensors

#8 Post by manjh » 17 Aug 2018, 10:57

grovkillen wrote:
25 Jul 2018, 15:29
They shouldn't be giving you that (zero reading). I will ask my colleagues once I get back to work.
Did you have a chance to discuss this with them?
After returning from my vacation I switched the unit on. It has been on for about five days now, and the sensor still reads zero... :(

User avatar
grovkillen
Core team member
Posts: 3332
Joined: 19 Jan 2017, 12:56
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Senseair sensors

#9 Post by grovkillen » 17 Aug 2018, 12:18

Please send me an email/PM and I will get this fixed :)
ESP Easy Flasher [flash tool and wifi setup at flash time]
ESP Easy Webdumper [easy screendumping of your units]
ESP Easy Netscan [find units]
Official shop: https://firstbyte.shop/
Sponsor ESP Easy, we need you :idea: :idea: :idea:

User avatar
grovkillen
Core team member
Posts: 3332
Joined: 19 Jan 2017, 12:56
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Senseair sensors

#10 Post by grovkillen » 17 Aug 2018, 22:28

manjh wrote:
17 Aug 2018, 10:57
grovkillen wrote:
25 Jul 2018, 15:29
They shouldn't be giving you that (zero reading). I will ask my colleagues once I get back to work.
Did you have a chance to discuss this with them?
After returning from my vacation I switched the unit on. It has been on for about five days now, and the sensor still reads zero... :(
And if possible... do you have logging data (i.e. the ppm readings) that you could send me together with the sensor? I will send you a replacement or two for the help.
ESP Easy Flasher [flash tool and wifi setup at flash time]
ESP Easy Webdumper [easy screendumping of your units]
ESP Easy Netscan [find units]
Official shop: https://firstbyte.shop/
Sponsor ESP Easy, we need you :idea: :idea: :idea:

manjh
Normal user
Posts: 441
Joined: 08 Feb 2016, 11:22

Re: Senseair sensors

#11 Post by manjh » 18 Aug 2018, 08:49

grovkillen wrote:
17 Aug 2018, 22:28
manjh wrote:
17 Aug 2018, 10:57
grovkillen wrote:
25 Jul 2018, 15:29
They shouldn't be giving you that (zero reading). I will ask my colleagues once I get back to work.
Did you have a chance to discuss this with them?
After returning from my vacation I switched the unit on. It has been on for about five days now, and the sensor still reads zero... :(
And if possible... do you have logging data (i.e. the ppm readings) that you could send me together with the sensor? I will send you a replacement or two for the help.
Readings are all zero, still are. Before my vacation it actually did send valid readings, after a loooong wait. But now it has been switched on for about five days without coming to life.

Code: Select all

Log
259293128 : BME : Humidity: 49.94
259293128 : BME : Barometric Pressure: 1022.60
259293129 : EVENT: BME280#Temperature=24.70
259293769 : EVENT: BME280#Humidity=49.94
259294409 : EVENT: BME280#Pressure=1022.60
259301254 : EVENT: Clock#Time=Sat,07:48
259322984 : WD : Uptime 4281 ConnectFailures 1 FreeMem 19856
259325477 : Senseair: co2 = 0
259325477 : EVENT: S8#CO2=0.00

User avatar
grovkillen
Core team member
Posts: 3332
Joined: 19 Jan 2017, 12:56
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Senseair sensors

#12 Post by grovkillen » 18 Aug 2018, 11:07

I will send you a new genuine sensor if you are able to send that broken one back to me. You did get that one as a gift from Edwin/Remco right?
ESP Easy Flasher [flash tool and wifi setup at flash time]
ESP Easy Webdumper [easy screendumping of your units]
ESP Easy Netscan [find units]
Official shop: https://firstbyte.shop/
Sponsor ESP Easy, we need you :idea: :idea: :idea:

manjh
Normal user
Posts: 441
Joined: 08 Feb 2016, 11:22

Re: Senseair sensors

#13 Post by manjh » 18 Aug 2018, 12:04

grovkillen wrote:
18 Aug 2018, 11:07
I will send you a new genuine sensor if you are able to send that broken one back to me. You did get that one as a gift from Edwin/Remco right?
Correct, Remco gave it to me to play with.
Send me your address via pm so I can ship it to you...

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 1946
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Senseair sensors

#14 Post by TD-er » 18 Aug 2018, 12:57

Maybe also good to know for debugging purposes, a list of how you connected it.
(power supply)
And if you ever changed the ABC settings.

manjh
Normal user
Posts: 441
Joined: 08 Feb 2016, 11:22

Re: Senseair sensors

#15 Post by manjh » 20 Aug 2018, 13:13

TD-er wrote:
18 Aug 2018, 12:57
Maybe also good to know for debugging purposes, a list of how you connected it.
(power supply)
And if you ever changed the ABC settings.
ABC settings...? I don't know what they are, so I have probably not changed them.... :oops:

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 1946
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Senseair sensors

#16 Post by TD-er » 21 Aug 2018, 07:47

ABC is "Automatic Base Calibration". That's what they teach at kindergarten... no wait... ;)
For CO2 sensors the sensor needs to do some self calibration every now and then and the easiest way to do it is to keep track of the lowest reading in the past N days and consider that to be 400 ppm, since that's currently the global minimum value.
Image
But in 10 years that base value may need some offset I am afraid.

You can set the value of N in number of days to use for the calibration.
But I recommend to leave that setting alone, since there has been a bug reported in the firmware of the Senseair regarding changing this setting.
That's the reason I removed that setting from the plugin as soon as that bug was reported.

manjh
Normal user
Posts: 441
Joined: 08 Feb 2016, 11:22

Re: Senseair sensors

#17 Post by manjh » 21 Aug 2018, 09:35

TD-er wrote:
21 Aug 2018, 07:47
ABC is "Automatic Base Calibration". That's what they teach at kindergarten... no wait... ;)
For CO2 sensors the sensor needs to do some self calibration every now and then and the easiest way to do it is to keep track of the lowest reading in the past N days and consider that to be 400 ppm, since that's currently the global minimum value.
Image
But in 10 years that base value may need some offset I am afraid.

You can set the value of N in number of days to use for the calibration.
But I recommend to leave that setting alone, since there has been a bug reported in the firmware of the Senseair regarding changing this setting.
That's the reason I removed that setting from the plugin as soon as that bug was reported.
Ah, that explains it, I was still focusing on E=MC2 at kindergarten... :-)

But no, I did not change anything in the plugin...

the_marsbar
Normal user
Posts: 1
Joined: 29 Nov 2019, 19:50

Re: Senseair sensors

#18 Post by the_marsbar » 29 Nov 2019, 19:55

Hi. I wonder what version of the K30 you are selling is? There are several according to SenseAirs website.

I’m thinking about adding one to my arsenal of sensors for a Raspberry Pi. Would it be suitable for that?

User avatar
grovkillen
Core team member
Posts: 3332
Joined: 19 Jan 2017, 12:56
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Senseair sensors

#19 Post by grovkillen » 29 Nov 2019, 20:32

the_marsbar wrote:
29 Nov 2019, 19:55
Hi. I wonder what version of the K30 you are selling is? There are several according to SenseAirs website.

I’m thinking about adding one to my arsenal of sensors for a Raspberry Pi. Would it be suitable for that?
Specially the one I have in stock are the 030-8-0006 but I can get you others too.
ESP Easy Flasher [flash tool and wifi setup at flash time]
ESP Easy Webdumper [easy screendumping of your units]
ESP Easy Netscan [find units]
Official shop: https://firstbyte.shop/
Sponsor ESP Easy, we need you :idea: :idea: :idea:

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest