Problem with ESP32 Flashing

Moderators: grovkillen, Stuntteam, TD-er

Post Reply
Message
Author
jarostrug
Normal user
Posts: 2
Joined: 26 Jan 2019, 19:07

Problem with ESP32 Flashing

#1 Post by jarostrug » 26 Jan 2019, 19:17

Hello,

I have problem during flashing my ESP32. I have information like in attached picture. I've tryied flash different versions but unusuccessfully.. Anybody help ?
Attachments
ESP_Trouble.png
ESP_Trouble.png (60.15 KiB) Viewed 2665 times

User avatar
grovkillen
Core team member
Posts: 3146
Joined: 19 Jan 2017, 12:56
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Problem with ESP32 Flashing

#2 Post by grovkillen » 26 Jan 2019, 19:49

You cannot use the esptool.exe for the ESP32, it's only made for ESP82XX.

You need to either use the IDE or a Python script.
ESP Easy Flasher [flash tool and wifi setup at flash time]
ESP Easy Webdumper [easy screendumping of your units]
ESP Easy Netscan [find units]
Official shop: https://firstbyte.shop/
Sponsor ESP Easy, we need you :idea: :idea: :idea:

jarostrug
Normal user
Posts: 2
Joined: 26 Jan 2019, 19:07

Re: Problem with ESP32 Flashing

#3 Post by jarostrug » 27 Jan 2019, 15:11

Thanks for your reply. In this case is it possible to flash ESPEasy or is it incompatible with esp32 ? Have you got any link where can I find how to flash ESP Easy to ESP32 ?

User avatar
grovkillen
Core team member
Posts: 3146
Joined: 19 Jan 2017, 12:56
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Problem with ESP32 Flashing

#4 Post by grovkillen » 27 Jan 2019, 16:26

We have a development build in the release zip. It's not ready for production yet but it's live and kicking on the ESP32.
ESP Easy Flasher [flash tool and wifi setup at flash time]
ESP Easy Webdumper [easy screendumping of your units]
ESP Easy Netscan [find units]
Official shop: https://firstbyte.shop/
Sponsor ESP Easy, we need you :idea: :idea: :idea:

Icestan
Normal user
Posts: 13
Joined: 20 Feb 2019, 16:46

Re: Problem with ESP32 Flashing

#5 Post by Icestan » 20 Feb 2019, 17:14

Hello Guys,

i know that the build for ESP32-Boards is only development stage.

But I thought, that this build can be flash to an ESP32 and will be boot.
The Only think after flashing, is a boot-loop with the following Result:

rst:0x10 (RTCWDT_RTC_RESET),boot:0x13 (SPI_FAST_FLASH_BOOT)
flash read err, 1000
ets_main.c 371
ets Jun 8 2016 00:22:57


I tried different tools, for example esptool.py, Flashtool 3.6.5 and so on.

Please, to all experts in this Board, can somebody write a little tutorial, how to flash the esp32-builds to this board.

Thanks for your support.

epost
Normal user
Posts: 20
Joined: 09 Feb 2018, 20:04

Re: Problem with ESP32 Flashing

#6 Post by epost » 21 Feb 2019, 09:50

Try this one. I use it successfully.
Knipsel.PNG
Knipsel.PNG (34.41 KiB) Viewed 2418 times

Icestan
Normal user
Posts: 13
Joined: 20 Feb 2019, 16:46

Re: Problem with ESP32 Flashing

#7 Post by Icestan » 21 Feb 2019, 12:50

Hello epost,

Thanks for your tip. This illustation i have already been found in other descriptions.
However, I did not find out where to get the other files.
Could you please show me where to get the Partition2.bin, boot_app0.bin or the Bootloader.bin?

Some of it, i found on espressif/arduino-esp32

But the partinions2.bin i can´t find.

epost
Normal user
Posts: 20
Joined: 09 Feb 2018, 20:04

Re: Problem with ESP32 Flashing

#8 Post by epost » 21 Feb 2019, 13:38

I found it somewhere in this forum.
I'm trying to make a .zip file out of it.
Attachments
esp32.zip
(7.84 KiB) Downloaded 265 times

Icestan
Normal user
Posts: 13
Joined: 20 Feb 2019, 16:46

Re: Problem with ESP32 Flashing

#9 Post by Icestan » 21 Feb 2019, 21:23

Thank you very much.

It works for me with the Image that i can see in your Picture from 20181214 :D .

The Image from 20190215 will boot and i can set the Wifi-Data. But the Data dont will saved.
I get the following Message in the Webapp, if i want to save the settings.
Error: Incorrect offset in struct: SettingsStruct

I saw that there are some changes since this version and it was probably slightly bent on the other side :cry: :( .

Icestan
Normal user
Posts: 13
Joined: 20 Feb 2019, 16:46

Re: Problem with ESP32 Flashing

#10 Post by Icestan » 23 Feb 2019, 22:35

I hope the error in the memory process is found and fixed.

Alan_37
Normal user
Posts: 11
Joined: 30 Apr 2017, 00:04

Re: Problem with ESP32 Flashing

#11 Post by Alan_37 » 01 Mar 2019, 11:29

Hi

I am trying to Flash ESP32 with the Zip file uploaded here, and the latest image release ( ESP_Easy_mega-20190301_esp32test_1M8_partition.bin )
it flashes OK and I can connect to Wifi: TSET ESP32_0 , Password: configesp

I can ping the esp32 on 192.168.4.1 OK but when I try to browse 192.168.4.1 there is nothing page not found

Anyone can help, please ??

robroy
Normal user
Posts: 1
Joined: 19 Jul 2018, 09:39

Re: Problem with ESP32 Flashing

#12 Post by robroy » 11 Mar 2019, 22:45

1. Reset firmware
2. Upload firmware
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1eSts5 ... xlurl7VbPo
3. Reboot
Settings Wi-fi and unit name an number - flash Program only
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1FiAMS ... chUNWmwsXP
4. reboot
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1M5gWP ... u4NMsauQY5

TheeDude
Normal user
Posts: 5
Joined: 09 Jun 2019, 14:57
Location: Boden, Sweden

Re: Problem with ESP32 Flashing

#13 Post by TheeDude » 09 Jun 2019, 15:01

robroy wrote:
11 Mar 2019, 22:45
1. Reset firmware
2. Upload firmware
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1eSts5 ... xlurl7VbPo
3. Reboot
Settings Wi-fi and unit name an number - flash Program only
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1FiAMS ... chUNWmwsXP
4. reboot
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1M5gWP ... u4NMsauQY5
Hello!

I try to flash as this procedure with the latest build, but I jut get that the COM ports are in use, but they are not.
I can connect to ESP32 card with Putty right after it says that the com port are in use..

Anyone else had any luck in this?

I did run ESPEasy32_R20100 build with this flash procedure, https://fabian-affolter.ch/blog/espeasy-for-esp32/ and that works ok!
But, I want to try other builds because I have weird "spikes" in DHT21 with nan readings, and values jumping around 2-3 degrees, and sometimes +-20 degrees.

Edit: I did now try out the actual version that you were referring to in your post, and I can´t get that to work either!
And I know for a fact that the Com port is not in use.

I read someone that had this problem in windows 10 before also, and it had actually worked in Windows Vista instead..
com port in use.png
com port in use.png (532.13 KiB) Viewed 1523 times
Edit2: I did try it out just now on a Windows 7 VM that I have on a ESXI-host, with no luck there either, same output as on the Win 10 laptop.

megamarco83
Normal user
Posts: 119
Joined: 13 Apr 2017, 23:09

Re: Problem with ESP32 Flashing

#14 Post by megamarco83 » 29 Jun 2019, 16:09

Alan_37 wrote:
01 Mar 2019, 11:29
Hi

I am trying to Flash ESP32 with the Zip file uploaded here, and the latest image release ( ESP_Easy_mega-20190301_esp32test_1M8_partition.bin )
it flashes OK and I can connect to Wifi: TSET ESP32_0 , Password: configesp

I can ping the esp32 on 192.168.4.1 OK but when I try to browse 192.168.4.1 there is nothing page not found

Anyone can help, please ??
hi, the same for me

i'm not be able to open the web page at 192.168.4.1 when i'm connected to Wifi: TSET ESP32_0

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 2 guests