Problem with WEB-interface

Moderators: grovkillen, Stuntteam, TD-er

Post Reply
Message
Author
TheeDude
Normal user
Posts: 5
Joined: 09 Jun 2019, 14:57
Location: Boden, Sweden

Problem with WEB-interface

#1 Post by TheeDude » 13 Jul 2019, 22:12

Hello!

I have a ESP8266 running with mega-20190630, it was working fine for a couple of days.
It is mounted on my ventilation unit, when I had to cut the power for a while, after that it is like something has happened.

I have it reporting temp values to domoticz, with 5 DHT22 sensors, that is working fine.

But web interface is "kind of" down, just answers with a ring that is spinning, looks like it is thinking or something.
Screenshot_20190713-215939_VNC Viewer.jpg
Screenshot_20190713-215939_VNC Viewer.jpg (105.96 KiB) Viewed 2887 times
I have also a smokeping server that pings devices on my network, and I can see there that something also happened with ping response time, it looks like esp8266 device is overloaded or something, you can clearly see that 10th of July, after my reboot/power outage something happened.

Anyone else had this problem with this release?
Or is it something that may happen when you cut the power, is it possible to bring it back to life without having crawling in to the attic with my laptop? :)

Thanks!
Attachments
smokeping .jpg
smokeping .jpg (90.56 KiB) Viewed 2887 times

User avatar
grovkillen
Core team member
Posts: 3263
Joined: 19 Jan 2017, 12:56
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Problem with WEB-interface

#2 Post by grovkillen » 13 Jul 2019, 22:41

Tjena! It could be that it is caught in limbo with the WiFi? Could you turn off the wifi for a while and test if the unit start an AP?
ESP Easy Flasher [flash tool and wifi setup at flash time]
ESP Easy Webdumper [easy screendumping of your units]
ESP Easy Netscan [find units]
Official shop: https://firstbyte.shop/
Sponsor ESP Easy, we need you :idea: :idea: :idea:

User avatar
ThomasB
Normal user
Posts: 406
Joined: 17 Jun 2018, 20:41
Location: USA

Re: Problem with WEB-interface

#3 Post by ThomasB » 13 Jul 2019, 22:43

Have you tried a remote reboot using http?
http://<DEVICE_IP>/?cmd=reboot

- Thomas

TheeDude
Normal user
Posts: 5
Joined: 09 Jun 2019, 14:57
Location: Boden, Sweden

Re: Problem with WEB-interface

#4 Post by TheeDude » 13 Jul 2019, 23:04

grovkillen wrote:
13 Jul 2019, 22:41
Tjena! It could be that it is caught in limbo with the WiFi? Could you turn off the wifi for a while and test if the unit start an AP?
Hallå!

That sounds like a reasonable explanation, but I can´t see why it should happen though, because it has managed many reboots before.
I will try it out when I get back home (working night shift right now) and report back!
ThomasB wrote:
13 Jul 2019, 22:43
Have you tried a remote reboot using http?
http://<DEVICE_IP>/?cmd=reboot

- Thomas
I have tried a couple reboots with pulling the fuse to the vent unit, and got it to reboot "manually", that dit not work.

But I did try that reboot command, I think that it did reboot, (hard to tell because it misses a couple of ping answers all the time).
Unfortunately, it didn't work.

Thanks anyway!

User avatar
ThomasB
Normal user
Posts: 406
Joined: 17 Jun 2018, 20:41
Location: USA

Re: Problem with WEB-interface

#5 Post by ThomasB » 14 Jul 2019, 00:33

I have tried a couple reboots with pulling the fuse to the vent unit, and got it to reboot "manually", that dit not work.
Hmm, that should have solved the problem. It seems to me that the firmware is corrupted or the device is broken. If it's installed in a hot attic then that can be a cruel environment for cheap Chinese made electronic modules.

Couple more ideas:
1. Reboot the WiFi router. After it is back online, apply power to the ESPEasy device.
2. Try other http commands to check for intelligent life and perhaps learn more about the problem. For example:
http://<DEVICE_IP>/?cmd=settings
http://<DEVICE_IP>/sysinfo

- Thomas

TheeDude
Normal user
Posts: 5
Joined: 09 Jun 2019, 14:57
Location: Boden, Sweden

Re: Problem with WEB-interface

#6 Post by TheeDude » 14 Jul 2019, 01:00

ThomasB wrote:
14 Jul 2019, 00:33
I have tried a couple reboots with pulling the fuse to the vent unit, and got it to reboot "manually", that dit not work.
Hmm, that should have solved the problem. It seems to me that the firmware is corrupted or the device is broken. If it's installed in a hot attic then that can be a cruel environment for cheap Chinese made electronic modules.

Couple more ideas:
1. Reboot the WiFi router. After it is back online, apply power to the ESPEasy device.
2. Try other http commands to check for intelligent life and perhaps learn more about the problem. For example:
http://<DEVICE_IP>/?cmd=settings
http://<DEVICE_IP>/sysinfo

- Thomas
Thanks for your input!

It does answer on those commands!
If I use sysinfo I come directly to the web interface, and it seems to work, everything except the homepage.
I can also see that it didn´t reboot, and I have tried rebooting it on the reboot button on the interface, and it does not respond on that.

Boot says "Cold boot (0)"
Reset Reason "Power on"

Everything seems to be ok from there, from what I can see, maybe just firmware been corrupted?
Do you think I should try updating firmware from web interface?

Regarding the installation of the ESP unit itself, I am not so concerned, it is installed in the junction box for the ventilation unit, has only been there for a week, I have tried it out on the bench before.
We have had a mild summer until now, I have noted a maximum temperature of 30 degrees celcius in there, and of course it´s also dry in there.
2107-1024.jpg
2107-1024.jpg (175.65 KiB) Viewed 2859 times

User avatar
ThomasB
Normal user
Posts: 406
Joined: 17 Jun 2018, 20:41
Location: USA

Re: Problem with WEB-interface

#7 Post by ThomasB » 14 Jul 2019, 01:18

If I use sysinfo I come directly to the web interface, and it seems to work, everything except the homepage.
Anything in the sysinfo report to be concerned about? For example, are Free Mem and Free Stack values normal?
Do you think I should try updating firmware from web interface?
That is a good idea. But keep in mind that it won't fix corrupted configuration data. So also try reloading a saved Settings data file too, http://<DEVICE_IP>/upload

Hopefully you find a easy fix. But be prepared to go back in the attic with your laptop. Especially since your 30°C attic sounds like a dreamy vacation spot. Currently 40°C (104°F) in the backyard shade at my place.

- Thomas

TheeDude
Normal user
Posts: 5
Joined: 09 Jun 2019, 14:57
Location: Boden, Sweden

Re: Problem with WEB-interface

#8 Post by TheeDude » 14 Jul 2019, 02:08

ThomasB wrote:
14 Jul 2019, 01:18
If I use sysinfo I come directly to the web interface, and it seems to work, everything except the homepage.
Anything in the sysinfo report to be concerned about? For example, are Free Mem and Free Stack values normal?
Do you think I should try updating firmware from web interface?
That is a good idea. But keep in mind that it won't fix corrupted configuration data. So also try reloading a saved Settings data file too, http://<DEVICE_IP>/upload

Hopefully you find a easy fix. But be prepared to go back in the attic with your laptop. Especially since your 30°C attic sounds like a dreamy vacation spot. Currently 40°C (104°F) in the backyard shade at my place.

- Thomas
I can´t find anything to be concerned about.
Here are Free Mem..

Free Mem 15800 (14128 - sendContentBlocking)
Free Stack 3552 (1960 - sendContentBlocking)

I have uploaded the same firmware that it was running, and web interface is back normal.

Ping response is just as terrible as before, but, I have remembered wrong, I did check a little closer about ping response time, and when it did occur, and that was when I moved it to the attic, from my desk.
So theese two faults did not occur at the same time.

It is only ~5 meters from my AP, a roof, and in a metal box on the vent unit, but I guess the wifi antenna on theese units aren´t that strong. :)

It seems to work ok for now, and I´ll see if it comes back next power outage, or before!

Thanks for your help!

User avatar
ThomasB
Normal user
Posts: 406
Joined: 17 Jun 2018, 20:41
Location: USA

Re: Problem with WEB-interface

#9 Post by ThomasB » 14 Jul 2019, 02:54

It seems to work ok for now, and I´ll see if it comes back next power outage, or before!
Glad to hear you fixed it.

- Thomas

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests