capacitive soil moisture sensor with wrong data

Moderators: grovkillen, Stuntteam, TD-er

Post Reply
Message
Author
Koenig
Normal user
Posts: 9
Joined: 16 Jun 2019, 11:20

capacitive soil moisture sensor with wrong data

#1 Post by Koenig » 08 Oct 2019, 18:32

Problem with capacitive soil moisture sensor (https://www.ebay.de/itm/Kapazitiver-Ana ... ensor-TFZ/): I calibrated this perfectly (once completely dry and once under water ). However, he always returns completely wrong numbers, sometimes in the minus range. The supply cable is about 2 meters long. The moisture meter is connected via ADS1115. Another, identical device is working properly. Is there a trick, maybe with a resistance?

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 1656
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: capacitive soil moisture sensor with wrong data

#2 Post by TD-er » 09 Oct 2019, 13:00

The URL doesn't work.
Could it be the sensor has been damaged?
So maybe water can get more close to the capacitive part of the sensor?
The way I think these sensors work, then distance to the (wet) soil is key to the measured value.

Koenig
Normal user
Posts: 9
Joined: 16 Jun 2019, 11:20

Re: capacitive soil moisture sensor with wrong data

#3 Post by Koenig » 09 Oct 2019, 21:13

Here is a new url: https://go.twenga.de/to?s=5338647&gap=1 ... gIRivD_BwE
But the sensor works quite well if i test it in a dry and totally wet environment. Today for example the values are totally normal. But some days the values are getting crazy :roll:

werner_g
Normal user
Posts: 31
Joined: 11 Jun 2017, 14:19

Re: capacitive soil moisture sensor with wrong data

#4 Post by werner_g » 10 Oct 2019, 16:15

I made the same experience with that sensor and also with ADS1115. Works perfectly in rooms, but when installing outdoor I could not get any reliable datas. Really a pity! Maybe temperature and air humidity is responsible for this.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 3 guests