MQTT Devices Aren't Publishing

Moderators: grovkillen, Stuntteam, TD-er

Post Reply
Message
Author
prairietech
Normal user
Posts: 18
Joined: 20 Oct 2017, 23:47

MQTT Devices Aren't Publishing

#1 Post by prairietech » 06 Nov 2019, 18:31

This used to work, but now that I have more time, something broke.
Running mega-10180126 on a Adafruit Feather. For testing have 2 generic system info devices for RSSI and Uptime. Task are enabled and assigned a Controller.
The Controller using openhab points to a Mosca broker in Node Red running on a RPi. Using default port 1883. User and pw left blank. Removed the leading / on the Controller Publish parameter.
Checking the espeasy log, I see MQTT topics published from the 2 system devices with correct values.

From Node Red I have a debug node connected to the broker showing this output.
I have also tried a Wemos running the same version of espeasy and also installed another Mosca broker on another RPi running NR with the same results.
I'm missing something here but can't figure out what?

{ packet: object, client: object }
11/6/2019, 10:58:43 AMnode: 3b73c854.346498
published : msg.payload : Object
{ packet: object, client: object }
11/6/2019, 10:58:51 AMnode: 3b73c854.346498
published : msg.payload : Object
{ packet: object, client: object }
11/6/2019, 10:58:53 AMnode: 3b73c854.346498
published : msg.payload : Object
{ packet: object, client: object }

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 1776
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: MQTT Devices Aren't Publishing

#2 Post by TD-er » 07 Nov 2019, 12:53

I don't have any experience with the Moca MQTT broker myself.
Can you also connect with some MQTT viewer like MQTT box or any other and subscribe to the topic you try to send to?
Maybe that will give a bit more information than the log you showed.

To me it is not even clear the messages are published to the MQTT broker or maybe pushed but incomplete.

And just curious, why are you using such an old build? Was that the one that once worked on this configuration?

prairietech
Normal user
Posts: 18
Joined: 20 Oct 2017, 23:47

Re: MQTT Devices Aren't Publishing

#3 Post by prairietech » 07 Nov 2019, 14:30

I'll plan on updating to the latest version hopefully this weekend.
It may be that monitoring the output of the Mosca MQTT broker with a debug node in Node Red doesn't display all of it's traffic like I assumed?
The Mosca node has an "output" to attach another node to. But maybe it isn't functional to determine if the broker is moving topics?

prairietech
Normal user
Posts: 18
Joined: 20 Oct 2017, 23:47

Re: MQTT Devices Aren't Publishing

#4 Post by prairietech » 08 Nov 2019, 23:52

Regarding updating, when I go to the wiki, it appears the same R120 version listed as stable is what I used about a year ago.
Is there a newer "stable" version that I am not seeing?

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 1776
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: MQTT Devices Aren't Publishing

#5 Post by TD-er » 09 Nov 2019, 01:09

prairietech wrote:
08 Nov 2019, 23:52
Regarding updating, when I go to the wiki, it appears the same R120 version listed as stable is what I used about a year ago.
Is there a newer "stable" version that I am not seeing?
Well, it hasn't yet been released as official stable version, since we have had an unfortunate amount of 'things causing instability'.
But the last few nightly builds have proven to be quite OK.
Sadly not as rock solid stable as the builds once have been, but we're at least getting into double-digit uptimes again (in days)

prairietech
Normal user
Posts: 18
Joined: 20 Oct 2017, 23:47

Re: MQTT Devices Aren't Publishing

#6 Post by prairietech » 09 Nov 2019, 01:57

Could you provide a file name or link of where I can download a newer version you would recommend, please?

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 1776
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: MQTT Devices Aren't Publishing

#7 Post by TD-er » 09 Nov 2019, 10:08

See the nightly builds here: https://github.com/letscontrolit/ESPEasy/releases

You could try the last one and then chose 'normal' with '4M1M' as flash size. (for 4MB flash nodes)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests