Solved! WiFi Beacon Timeout 200

Moderators: grovkillen, Stuntteam, TD-er

Post Reply
Message
Author
valbuz99
Normal user
Posts: 24
Joined: 08 Jan 2019, 21:16

Solved! WiFi Beacon Timeout 200

#1 Post by valbuz99 » 19 Nov 2019, 13:28

Hi folks.

i've running a sonoff with espeasy mega-20191116 more than 2 weeks without problems. Connected to my own WLAN.
Since about 3 days i can't connect anymore.
on the serial interface i see alsways reconnects with error 200 Beacon timeout. i try also other AP's(on other locations) with change the settings by serial -> no success :(
i try also on the serial the cmd : reset , but the configured SSID and Key stay stored :roll:

is there any other information i can find on the Sonoff? After flashing, i have the same problem....

ESPCore: 2_5_2 SDK: 2.2.1

thanks for any hint.

pat
sonoff.PNG
sonoff.PNG (56.3 KiB) Viewed 1175 times
Last edited by valbuz99 on 21 Nov 2019, 19:54, edited 2 times in total.

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 1950
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: WiFi Beacon Timeout 200

#2 Post by TD-er » 19 Nov 2019, 13:31

If you reboot (power cycle) the unit, is it then able to reconnect like it should? (and stable)

valbuz99
Normal user
Posts: 24
Joined: 08 Jan 2019, 21:16

Re: WiFi Beacon Timeout 200

#3 Post by valbuz99 » 19 Nov 2019, 13:34

TD-er wrote:
19 Nov 2019, 13:31
If you reboot (power cycle) the unit, is it then able to reconnect like it should? (and stable)
No, i take it to a other location (without a power bank ;-) )

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 1950
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: WiFi Beacon Timeout 200

#4 Post by TD-er » 19 Nov 2019, 13:42

Could it be that the supplied voltage to the ESP is lower than when you started?
The voltage of the ESP chip itself has to do with how the RF part (WiFi) is working.
At start of the WiFi, the ESP performs a calibration which is based on the current voltage of the ESP module.
If that voltage drops, it will have a lot more difficulty to have a stable WiFi connection, or even to see all nodes when scanning.

valbuz99
Normal user
Posts: 24
Joined: 08 Jan 2019, 21:16

Re: WiFi Beacon Timeout 200

#5 Post by valbuz99 » 19 Nov 2019, 13:50

TD-er wrote:
19 Nov 2019, 13:42
Could it be that the supplied voltage to the ESP is lower than when you started?
No, is the same. I also tried with the AC power.
TD-er wrote:
19 Nov 2019, 13:42
The voltage of the ESP chip itself has to do with how the RF part (WiFi) is working.
At start of the WiFi, the ESP performs a calibration which is based on the current voltage of the ESP module.
If that voltage drops, it will have a lot more difficulty to have a stable WiFi connection, or even to see all nodes when scanning.
But the errors are always the same. (AC and DC)

valbuz99
Normal user
Posts: 24
Joined: 08 Jan 2019, 21:16

Re: WiFi Beacon Timeout 200

#6 Post by valbuz99 » 19 Nov 2019, 14:10

after a while now.....
connected.PNG
connected.PNG (49.23 KiB) Viewed 1169 times
but no web interface (also no ping) :roll:

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 1950
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: WiFi Beacon Timeout 200

#7 Post by TD-er » 19 Nov 2019, 16:13

Is it possible the accesspoint is hitting some maximum in number of connected clients?
The beacon timeout is something that can happen all the time, but not as frequent as you're seeing here.

There are other reasons why it may happen:
- ESP is running some tasks which are blocking for a while.
- Running with "eco mode" enabled (Tools => advanced)

valbuz99
Normal user
Posts: 24
Joined: 08 Jan 2019, 21:16

Re: WiFi Beacon Timeout 200

#8 Post by valbuz99 » 19 Nov 2019, 21:10

TD-er wrote:
19 Nov 2019, 16:13
Is it possible the accesspoint is hitting some maximum in number of connected clients?
i think not. i test it with 3 different AP's
TD-er wrote:
19 Nov 2019, 16:13

There are other reasons why it may happen:
- ESP is running some tasks which are blocking for a while.
- Running with "eco mode" enabled (Tools => advanced)
i send many times the command "reset" on the serial interface. on the wiki, with "reset" they are all settings erased. But i describe above, after that,
the sonoff takes always the connection of the last SSID again :|
so is there all erased or not?!

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 1950
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: WiFi Beacon Timeout 200

#9 Post by TD-er » 19 Nov 2019, 22:45

Depends, did these unit ever run another firmware before ESPEasy?
(or an old version, older than 2 years old)

Then there may be stored some WiFi credentials which may be used by the ESP to perform a reconnect.

It is also possible the reset is not performed well, or you have set on the factory reset page to keep some settings?

valbuz99
Normal user
Posts: 24
Joined: 08 Jan 2019, 21:16

Re: WiFi Beacon Timeout 200

#10 Post by valbuz99 » 20 Nov 2019, 06:54

TD-er wrote:
19 Nov 2019, 22:45
Depends, did these unit ever run another firmware before ESPEasy?
(or an old version, older than 2 years old)
No, it only run's on a ESPEasy Firmware 20191119. And it run's for about 2 or 3 weeks without problems....
TD-er wrote:
19 Nov 2019, 22:45
Then there may be stored some WiFi credentials which may be used by the ESP to perform a reconnect.

It is also possible the reset is not performed well, or you have set on the factory reset page to keep some settings?
it try's to connect to the last SSID i configure.

is there another way to reset the sonoff to it's factory?

User avatar
grovkillen
Core team member
Posts: 3334
Joined: 19 Jan 2017, 12:56
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Re: WiFi Beacon Timeout 200

#11 Post by grovkillen » 20 Nov 2019, 08:18

To factory, no, drive är since you flashed it with ESP Easy. But if you have a physical connection to it you may want to flash a "blank" bin file before flashing the firmware.
ESP Easy Flasher [flash tool and wifi setup at flash time]
ESP Easy Webdumper [easy screendumping of your units]
ESP Easy Netscan [find units]
Official shop: https://firstbyte.shop/
Sponsor ESP Easy, we need you :idea: :idea: :idea:

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 1950
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: WiFi Beacon Timeout 200

#12 Post by TD-er » 20 Nov 2019, 09:40

Connecting RX and TX on the ESP at boot should also trigger a full reset to factory defaults (without keeping settings)

valbuz99
Normal user
Posts: 24
Joined: 08 Jan 2019, 21:16

Re: WiFi Beacon Timeout 200

#13 Post by valbuz99 » 20 Nov 2019, 14:51

I'm always flashing a blank bin file, before flashing the mega-xxxxx

Now, i read in the wiki, after flashing and rebooting : Waiting about 5Min. :cry:
Is the bin file extracting after a reboot and takes so long?! :?:

So i will test this szenario...

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 1950
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: WiFi Beacon Timeout 200

#14 Post by TD-er » 20 Nov 2019, 18:14

valbuz99 wrote:
20 Nov 2019, 14:51
Now, i read in the wiki, after flashing and rebooting : Waiting about 5Min. :cry:
Is the bin file extracting after a reboot and takes so long?! :?:

So i will test this szenario...
Hmm that's way longer than usual.
You can also track the progress of booting via a serial monitor (e.g. Putty via the COM port, use 115200 baud)

valbuz99
Normal user
Posts: 24
Joined: 08 Jan 2019, 21:16

Re: WiFi Beacon Timeout 200

#15 Post by valbuz99 » 21 Nov 2019, 07:04

so... i flash a new bin-file (mega-20191116)
here a screenshot form serial. the websever was not reachable.
sonoff1.PNG
sonoff1.PNG (54.38 KiB) Viewed 1047 times

valbuz99
Normal user
Posts: 24
Joined: 08 Jan 2019, 21:16

Re: WiFi Beacon Timeout 200

#16 Post by valbuz99 » 21 Nov 2019, 14:37

So......

I change the hole HW and now it works again :(

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 30 guests