Reboot ESP32 with ESPEASY from remote?

Moderators: grovkillen, Stuntteam, TD-er

Post Reply
Message
Author
Alpensepp
Normal user
Posts: 5
Joined: 12 Feb 2018, 08:32

Reboot ESP32 with ESPEASY from remote?

#1 Post by Alpensepp » 02 Dec 2019, 06:41

Hi!
I have an ESP32 dev with ESPEASY running in a remote place.
Version: ESP_Easy_mega-20191116_esp32test_4M316k

The ESPs webserver gets stuck irregularly, I cant open it any more.

But I still can ping the ESP and it sends data via MQTT.
Is there a way to reboot it without use of its website?

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 1946
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Reboot ESP32 with ESPEASY from remote?

#2 Post by TD-er » 02 Dec 2019, 08:43

If you portscan it, does it react on port 80?
If so, you could try to send just the reboot url: http://ip/?cmd=reboot

Do you have any idea at what version this started to happen, as you state it happens regularly?

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 1946
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Reboot ESP32 with ESPEASY from remote?

#3 Post by TD-er » 02 Dec 2019, 10:14

I fired up my test ESP32 and it can be reproduced quite easily by clicking the disconnect button on the web interface.
I will make an issue for it.

port 80 of the web interface does not respond anymore, so the web server is not running so it seems.

Alpensepp
Normal user
Posts: 5
Joined: 12 Feb 2018, 08:32

Re: Reboot ESP32 with ESPEASY from remote?

#4 Post by Alpensepp » 02 Dec 2019, 11:43

TD-er wrote:
02 Dec 2019, 08:43
ESP_Easy_mega-20191116_esp32test_4M316k
When I do a portscan, port 80 is open. But it does not react to any command.
I just started with ESP32s and therefore started with ESP_Easy_mega-20191116_esp32test_4M316k .

When the ESP32 freezed this night, it had to do nothing special. It sent temperature data from a bme280 via MQTT every hour. Suddenly it stopped sending data.

It is quite important for me, that the ESP32 and ESPEASY run stable, because I have 1 1/2h drive to the place, where it is running to restart it.
Is it a common issue for an ESP32? Should I go for an ESP8266, instead? The ESP8266 I run at home seem to run stable.

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 1946
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Reboot ESP32 with ESPEASY from remote?

#5 Post by TD-er » 02 Dec 2019, 11:57

Is it a common issue for an ESP32? Should I go for an ESP8266, instead? The ESP8266 I run at home seem to run stable.
For now it may be better I guess.
I've been testing it here now and it does not seem to act well on WiFi reconnects.
I also see a lot of reconnect issues to the MQTT broker if it does have webserver issues.

And to be honest, I have not tested the ESP32 builds very well.

Alpensepp
Normal user
Posts: 5
Joined: 12 Feb 2018, 08:32

Re: Reboot ESP32 with ESPEASY from remote?

#6 Post by Alpensepp » 02 Dec 2019, 16:13

OK, thank you for the quick reaction. I will go for the 8266.
Are there plans to fully support the ESP32 in future?

User avatar
grovkillen
Core team member
Posts: 3332
Joined: 19 Jan 2017, 12:56
Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Reboot ESP32 with ESPEASY from remote?

#7 Post by grovkillen » 02 Dec 2019, 17:17

Alpensepp wrote:
02 Dec 2019, 16:13
OK, thank you for the quick reaction. I will go for the 8266.
Are there plans to fully support the ESP32 in future?
Yes but first the stable release (very soon) and then the new GUI. We're only two guys and it's been taking longer than expected to get a grip of the project, but now we're gaining momentum.
ESP Easy Flasher [flash tool and wifi setup at flash time]
ESP Easy Webdumper [easy screendumping of your units]
ESP Easy Netscan [find units]
Official shop: https://firstbyte.shop/
Sponsor ESP Easy, we need you :idea: :idea: :idea:

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 1946
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Reboot ESP32 with ESPEASY from remote?

#8 Post by TD-er » 02 Dec 2019, 17:19

I've been running tests on ESP32 since your post this morning, but I'm quite worried about the WiFi issues's I'm seeing.
Sure there are plans to support ESP32 and I was under the impression that it was quite OK-ish for the ESP32 even though I have not tested a lot with it.

But now I'm not convinced we should include ESP32 as officially "released" on the upcoming release of ESPEasy.
The WiFi stability is abominable right now and I truly cannot imagine why I haven't seen more issues with it.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 16 guests