Earthquakes alert Mexico

Moderators: grovkillen, Stuntteam, TD-er

Post Reply
Message
Author
Sylvain78
Normal user
Posts: 4
Joined: 29 Jun 2020, 19:49

Earthquakes alert Mexico

#1 Post by Sylvain78 » 29 Jun 2020, 19:57

Hello,

My in-laws live in Mexico, there are a lot of earthquakes. The last one was two weeks ago.

They have a weather radio (Midland WR120) which via the Mexican earthquake warning system (Sasmex) alerts in case of earthquakes before the arrival of the tremors.

This weather radio has on the back a mono jack female plug (which acts as a switch). It is also possible to add a small battery-powered strobe light as an option to get a visual alert.

I wish to recover when the circuit closes (that is to say that there is an alert) to make an ascent via IFTTT to warn on telegram, to switch on alarms via Sonoff modules ...

Do you think it's possible via a lolin32 ?

I don't know much about it

Thank you

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 2793
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Earthquakes alert Mexico

#2 Post by TD-er » 29 Jun 2020, 21:08

What kind of signal is sent via the radio?

Sylvain78
Normal user
Posts: 4
Joined: 29 Jun 2020, 19:49

Re: Earthquakes alert Mexico

#3 Post by Sylvain78 » 29 Jun 2020, 21:51

Thank you very much for your answer. The radio transmits in VHF, it remains silent, and starts transmitting only in case of an alert.

It has a jack output (mono) that acts as a switch. The contact is open when there is no alert, and the contact closes when there is an alarm.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Phone_connector_(audio) Paragraph : Switch contacts

Image

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 2793
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Earthquakes alert Mexico

#4 Post by TD-er » 30 Jun 2020, 00:18

So it could be used as a simple relay switch and connect it to a GPIO pin which is pulled up when the switch is not closed.

That's rather easy to implement, using ESPEasy.
But I guess it would be hard to debug if things are not connected right :)

Sylvain78
Normal user
Posts: 4
Joined: 29 Jun 2020, 19:49

Re: Earthquakes alert Mexico

#5 Post by Sylvain78 » 30 Jun 2020, 08:54

Thank you for your answer :)

What do you mean the debug ? Can there be problems ?

Is it difficult to set up an IFTTT on an ESPEasy ?

TD-er
Core team member
Posts: 2793
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 22:13
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Earthquakes alert Mexico

#6 Post by TD-er » 30 Jun 2020, 09:09

Sylvain78 wrote:
30 Jun 2020, 08:54
What do you mean the debug ? Can there be problems ?
It was a joke, as it is a bit hard to signal an earthquake to test the setup :)

Sylvain78
Normal user
Posts: 4
Joined: 29 Jun 2020, 19:49

Re: Earthquakes alert Mexico

#7 Post by Sylvain78 » 30 Jun 2020, 09:36

Ahaha sorry I didn't understand! :)

I'll try to set it up :)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests