Page 10 of 10

Re: Nextion display plugin

Posted: 21 Nov 2018, 21:51
by Wiki
Which speed? Default setting of the Nextion display as well as the Nextion plugin is set to 9600.

To use 115200 baud I have added to the preinitialize event of page0 "baud=115200"
If you do so, you have to change the baud rate in your Wemos Devices Nextion from 9600 to 115200.

Re: Nextion display plugin

Posted: 25 Nov 2018, 13:03
by frank
I want to order a Nextion display so i can use it on my BBQ controller. My question is does this plugin also works with the improved nextion display??

Re: Nextion display plugin

Posted: 25 Nov 2018, 18:11
by ThomasB
My question is does this plugin also works with the improved nextion display??
I have confirmed compatibility with the enhanced version. My evaluation used a NX4024K032-011.

- Thomas

Re: Nextion display plugin

Posted: 25 Nov 2018, 18:24
by frank
ThomasB wrote:
25 Nov 2018, 18:11
My question is does this plugin also works with the improved nextion display??
I have confirmed compatibility with the enhanced version. My evaluation used a NX4024K032-011.

- Thomas
great thx

Re: Nextion display plugin

Posted: 10 Dec 2018, 03:51
by waspie
I haven't updated my ESPs running my nextions for a long time since they were working ok. I used a recent release and now a ton of stuff isn't working right


how do I sent commands to the nextion now?
it used to be just as simple as
nextion,dim=5

but that no longer is the case, how do i do this now?

tried NEXTION,
Nextion
nextion.

nothing works.

plugin is receiving button presses
***Edit*** it's the name of the task now, in my case "lr"

You guys could make a note of that?

Re: Nextion display plugin

Posted: 10 Dec 2018, 05:43
by ThomasB
I tested the latest version (mega-20181207) and no issues were observed.

If your nextion device is named lr then the command used in your example would need to be

Code: Select all

lr,dim=5
- Thomas

Re: Nextion display plugin

Posted: 10 Jan 2019, 14:28
by homerruma
waspie wrote:
25 Jul 2018, 18:03
to take advantage of H/W serial using the pin swap option it needs to be wired like this, correct?

NextionHwSerialPinout1.jpg
If this is ok then the scheme is on https://www.letscontrolit.com/wiki/inde ... le=Nextion is not good.
Image

This scheme shows that D7 (RXD2) na Nodemcu connected with NEXTION RX.

Re: Nextion display plugin

Posted: 10 Jan 2019, 16:52
by Wiki
Hi,
RXD2 has to be connected to TX Nextion, TXD2 to RX Nextion.
I don't use a transistor due to the fact that the signals of the Nextion are 3.3V.

Re: Nextion display plugin

Posted: 10 Jan 2019, 17:10
by ThomasB
@homerruma: Thank you for reporting the error. The image has been corrected.

@wiki: Nextion and ESP8266 are indeed 3.3V devices. But the transistor is not intended to convert the logic level. It is a buffer that is used to ensure that the ESP8266 can boot-up. Without it there is a strong chance the ESP8266 will hang on a reset.

- Thomas

Re: Nextion display plugin

Posted: 10 Jan 2019, 18:28
by homerruma
As I see on the link https://www.letscontrolit.com/wiki/inde ... le=Nextion the image is not corrected.
Still stands RX Nodemcu at RX Nektion.

Imagenextion2 by homerruma3, on Flickr

Re: Nextion display plugin

Posted: 10 Jan 2019, 20:50
by Wiki
ThomasB wrote:
10 Jan 2019, 17:10
....But the transistor is not intended to convert the logic level. It is a buffer that is used to ensure that the ESP8266 can boot-up. Without it there is a strong chance the ESP8266 will hang on a reset.
Oh yes, you are right, now I remember.

Sometimes there are some benefits in the procedure first think before write. Thanks for the reminder...

Re: Nextion display plugin

Posted: 11 Jan 2019, 00:01
by ThomasB
As I see on the link https://www.letscontrolit.com/wiki/inde ... le=Nextion the image is not corrected.
Still stands RX Nodemcu at RX Nektion.
Hmm, I see the correct drawing in my browser.

Try refreshing your browser cache to regenerate the Nextion Wiki page. Usually the F5 key will do a refresh (works in FireFox). A refresh should populate the recently uploaded image.

- Thomas

Re: Nextion display plugin

Posted: 11 Jan 2019, 00:13
by homerruma
I've refreshed the page. Now I closed it and reopened it, I can not see the changes.
Definitely everything is old.
Ask the third party to confirm.

Re: Nextion display plugin

Posted: 11 Jan 2019, 00:38
by ThomasB
Hopefully someone in the audience can confirm the wiki page has the new drawing.

I retested the Nextion wiki page using three different WIN10 PC workstations. And I viewed the page using FF, Edge, IE, and chrome browsers. They all show the latest image.

Here's a screenshot:
nextion_screenshot.jpg
nextion_screenshot.jpg (176.44 KiB) Viewed 2826 times

I have an idea. Try this test: Go to this wiki image folder: https://www.letscontrolit.com/wiki/inde ... r1_450.jpg

You will see two images in the file history. The original (depreciated) July-30-2018 and the corrected image from today, Jan-10-2019. The corrected image is the one that is targeted by the Nextion Wiki page. If you don't see both images then that would indicate that there is a wiki server cache issue; Check again in a few hours.

- Thomas

Re: Nextion display plugin

Posted: 11 Jan 2019, 00:56
by homerruma
This time, Chrome vs Firefox
Imagechrome vs firefox by homerruma3, on Flickr

Re: Nextion display plugin

Posted: 11 Jan 2019, 00:59
by homerruma
Yes, it's corrected
Imagenextion file history by homerruma3, on Flickr

Re: Nextion display plugin

Posted: 11 Jan 2019, 01:08
by ThomasB
To refresh chrome's cache you should hold Ctrl and press F5.
https://www.getfilecloud.com/blog/2015/ ... DfeN817kaY

- Thomas

Re: Nextion display plugin

Posted: 11 Jan 2019, 12:26
by homerruma
Thank you.

Re: Nextion display plugin

Posted: 21 Mar 2019, 12:53
by VernonBriz
ThomasB wrote:
31 Oct 2018, 02:40
I've never used the Ser2Net plugin, but maybe it could be used to assist with flashing the Nextion? Or maybe a spinoff of Ser2Net that has been altered to support Nextion's hardware serial wiring scheme. Minor code tweaks shouldn't be a problem, but a major code rewrite would be a deal killer for me.

Ideally we would need a virtual com port on our developer PC that the Nextion IDE could use to redirect its com port to TCP for flashing. Something like this (randomly found with Google):
https://www.hvv-group.com/softwera/hw-v ... erial-port

It would be great if a Nextion plugin user that has experience with Ser2Net would chime in and offer some insight on this idea.

- Thomas
Hi! I understand that I may not be in the subject, but I would advise you to use the serial to ethernet connector https://serial-over-ethernet.com program, since It will be more formatted and better. During the data transfer period, you will receive a full signaling branch.
Peace
Vernon

Re: Nextion display plugin

Posted: 03 Jun 2019, 03:25
by waspie
hey - do any of you guys using a nextion notice that sometimes you press the screen and it reacts but the ESP doesn't seem to register the press?

is this a software/hardware serial issue - as in, if using software serial the ESP misses the transmission from the Nextion?

Re: Nextion display plugin

Posted: 03 Jun 2019, 16:59
by ThomasB
is this a software/hardware serial issue - as in, if using software serial the ESP misses the transmission from the Nextion?
Top
It's a known issue with soft serial. The problem should not occur if you are using hardware serial with the Nextion Plugin.

- Thomas

Re: Nextion display plugin

Posted: 03 Jun 2019, 22:25
by Wiki
Using softserial was no way to get the communication reliable. I disabled the serial log to get the standard RX/TX pins of my Wemos D1 free, connected the Nextion and configured the Nextion plugin accordingly, set to 57600 bd, no playing around with transistor, at least rock solid stable.

Re: Nextion display plugin

Posted: 04 Jun 2019, 02:58
by waspie
ThomasB wrote:
03 Jun 2019, 16:59
is this a software/hardware serial issue - as in, if using software serial the ESP misses the transmission from the Nextion?
Top
It's a known issue with soft serial. The problem should not occur if you are using hardware serial with the Nextion Plugin.

- Thomas
great :\ now i need to order new boards... i have a pile of "hasp" boards i had made quite a while ago before hardware serial came along...

Re: Nextion display plugin

Posted: 10 Aug 2019, 17:41
by frank
is there further development? The nextion works for me but better integration with domoticz wood be great

Re: Nextion display plugin

Posted: 04 Sep 2019, 08:26
by BertB
Various people worked on this plugin, based on the work of majklovec.
ThomasB was the last person to make major improvements.
Unfortunately it is still in the Test state and it realy deserves to go into the next level.

Although I made the first rough version of what it is right now, based on the work of majklovec, I am not skilled enough to get it to that level.
So I realy hope someone else (@ThomasB?) will, as the plugin works great for me.

Re: Nextion display plugin

Posted: 04 Sep 2019, 09:17
by TD-er
@BertB
What do you think is needed to get it to "the next level" ?

Re: Nextion display plugin

Posted: 04 Sep 2019, 23:35
by BertB
I will think this over.

Re: Nextion display plugin

Posted: 05 Sep 2019, 19:23
by BertB
TD-er wrote:
04 Sep 2019, 09:17
@BertB
What do you think is needed to get it to "the next level" ?
I can work very well with this plugin as it is. Maybe some more line would be nice to have.
Sending data to a controller is not realy required. All event handling is taken care of in rules. Unless you want to fetch the data in a script on something like Domoticz. I only use it for debuging, by sending the data to a text box.

Most important update would be the migration to the non-test status.

Re: Nextion display plugin

Posted: 05 Sep 2019, 19:50
by TD-er
BertB wrote:
05 Sep 2019, 19:23
[...]
Most important update would be the migration to the non-test status.
Well as easy as that sounds (removing a word "testing" and moving a define + updating documentation), it may be more difficult than you would think.
As you may have noticed, the last number of builds were quite a bit larger than before.
Almost all are now approaching the max. a build can be.
I am working hard to either get the size down, or add a dynamic way to generate just the build you need.
As soon as we found a way for it, I can move the plugin to 'normal'.
But it may even be there is no "normal" anymore, if the user defined build is ready :)

Re: Nextion display plugin

Posted: 05 Sep 2019, 19:55
by BertB
TD-er wrote:
05 Sep 2019, 19:50
BertB wrote:
05 Sep 2019, 19:23
[...]
Most important update would be the migration to the non-test status.
Well as easy as that sounds (removing a word "testing" and moving a define + updating documentation), it may be more difficult than you would think.
As you may have noticed, the last number of builds were quite a bit larger than before.
Almost all are now approaching the max. a build can be.
I am working hard to either get the size down, or add a dynamic way to generate just the build you need.
As soon as we found a way for it, I can move the plugin to 'normal'.
But it may even be there is no "normal" anymore, if the user defined build is ready :)
I already guessed it wasn't that easy.
Well, I am a patient guy.

Re: Nextion display plugin

Posted: 06 Sep 2019, 14:21
by Wiki
I am running the Nextion now for almost one year and it is working perfectly for me. The last improvement was to use a Wemos D1 pro with external antenna to get a reliable Wifi communication. But that is not related to the plugin.

Currently I am displaying the data of 12 sensors spread all over in my house and being able to switch 10 different devices, displaying their status independently from where they were switched (using the display, switched by Domoticz or switched nanually by button).

My only problem is that I am running out of space for more rules. So I am waiting for he new rules engine to come.

I am fine with the test-status and can wait for a change of its status patiently, too.

And many Thanks to everyone who made this plugin available and running.