Hello,
Sorry for my bad english, i'm french.
I'm a electronic engineer (hardware) and I play with a ESP8266-12e module for record some sensors on thinkspeaks ( 2 temperatures, current and voltage) for solar system.
The system is ok and my sensor data are upload every 60s but i don't understant the sleep mode. My system will be supply by 3 AA batteries.
When I check the sleep mode and i monitor the current, At the beginning and during 60s, the current is near 18µA. But after, the current reachs 24mA.
What's the problem ?
Thanks a lot for your help,
Problem with Sleep mode
Moderators: grovkillen, Stuntteam, TD-er
-
- Normal user
- Posts: 300
- Joined: 07 Feb 2016, 11:56
Re: Problem with Sleep mode
I don't understand, it sounds like while it is sleeping the current is 18uA and then it is 24mA? I think we need more information to determine what you think the problem is and what may be causing it.
1. Do you have GPIO 16 tied to reset?
2. How are you monitoring the current and how often?
3. Is it cycling, sleep, wake, sleep, wake....
4. Is it transmitting data when it wakes
5. What version of ESPEasy are you using
6. Are you using HTTP or MQTT to send the data?
When it is asleep, 18uA is what I would expect, and 24mA when it is waking up and not transmitting is reasonable, however when transmitting I would expect it to be higher, maybe around 100mA. Unless you have a way to continuously monitor the current you may miss the transmission. I have used a second ESP-12F and a INA219 to monitor current taking readings every second and I frequently miss the transmission.
Anyone know of an inexpensive way to continuously monitor current and log be able to log the information? I could use a meter to see the readings, but that will also depend on how fast my meter is as well as having to constantly look at the meter.
1. Do you have GPIO 16 tied to reset?
2. How are you monitoring the current and how often?
3. Is it cycling, sleep, wake, sleep, wake....
4. Is it transmitting data when it wakes
5. What version of ESPEasy are you using
6. Are you using HTTP or MQTT to send the data?
When it is asleep, 18uA is what I would expect, and 24mA when it is waking up and not transmitting is reasonable, however when transmitting I would expect it to be higher, maybe around 100mA. Unless you have a way to continuously monitor the current you may miss the transmission. I have used a second ESP-12F and a INA219 to monitor current taking readings every second and I frequently miss the transmission.
Anyone know of an inexpensive way to continuously monitor current and log be able to log the information? I could use a meter to see the readings, but that will also depend on how fast my meter is as well as having to constantly look at the meter.
-
- New user
- Posts: 3
- Joined: 03 Nov 2016, 08:23
Re: Problem with Sleep mode
Thankyou for your fast response.
1. Do you have GPIO 16 tied to reset?
Before, i use GPIO14 (error...), i change to GPIO16
2. How are you monitoring the current and how often?
I use a Agilent N6705B 4 channels supply with log every 1ms, current measure precision is below 50nA
3. Is it cycling, sleep, wake, sleep, wake....
Before (with gpio 14) only sleep and wake
4. Is it transmitting data when it wakes
No transmission besfore
5. What version of ESPEasy are you using
EspEasy version 141
6. Are you using HTTP or MQTT to send the data?
Thinkspeak protocole (normally http).
I change my board to GPIO16 and test the product.
Without sleep :
[img][IMG]http://img4.hostingpics.net/thumbs/mini ... veille.jpg[/img][/img]
Average current 75mA
With sleep and 60s transmission :
[img][IMG]http://img4.hostingpics.net/thumbs/mini ... les60s.jpg[/img][/img]
Average current : 7.68mA
The wakeup time seem to be very long , it's normal 8s.
1. Do you have GPIO 16 tied to reset?
Before, i use GPIO14 (error...), i change to GPIO16
2. How are you monitoring the current and how often?
I use a Agilent N6705B 4 channels supply with log every 1ms, current measure precision is below 50nA
3. Is it cycling, sleep, wake, sleep, wake....
Before (with gpio 14) only sleep and wake
4. Is it transmitting data when it wakes
No transmission besfore
5. What version of ESPEasy are you using
EspEasy version 141
6. Are you using HTTP or MQTT to send the data?
Thinkspeak protocole (normally http).
I change my board to GPIO16 and test the product.
Without sleep :
[img][IMG]http://img4.hostingpics.net/thumbs/mini ... veille.jpg[/img][/img]
Average current 75mA
With sleep and 60s transmission :
[img][IMG]http://img4.hostingpics.net/thumbs/mini ... les60s.jpg[/img][/img]
Average current : 7.68mA
The wakeup time seem to be very long , it's normal 8s.
-
- New user
- Posts: 1
- Joined: 02 Nov 2016, 07:51
Re: Problem with Sleep mode
You may try to set IP address to static and set static DNS instead of using DHCP. It may slightly reduce wake up period. I learnt it from https://tinker.yeoman.com.au/2015/03/08 ... eep-sleep/
HTH
Regards
HTH
Regards
-
- New user
- Posts: 3
- Joined: 03 Nov 2016, 08:23
Re: Problem with Sleep mode
OK, thankyou.
With static ip adress, the wakup time is reduce to 5.8s avec average current to 7.2mA (60s send data).
regards,
With static ip adress, the wakup time is reduce to 5.8s avec average current to 7.2mA (60s send data).
regards,
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: Anthropic Claude Bot [bot] and 30 guests