Reflashed NodeMCU but no ESP_XX AP available

Moderators: grovkillen, Stuntteam, TD-er

Message
Author
LoTheGeek
Normal user
Posts: 10
Joined: 17 Apr 2017, 10:22

Reflashed NodeMCU but no ESP_XX AP available

#1 Post by LoTheGeek » 04 Jun 2017, 23:08

Hi,

I've played today with my NodeMCU v3 under ESPEasy R120.
I've successfully switch on a little Led using Domoticz (I know it's a little bit ridiculous for you but it was a big challenge for me).

Before doing more tests, I decided to change my ESP config to use a Static IP address instead of DHCP. I've done the modification in the setup interface and reboot my nodemcu,

After the reboot, the device was not available neither with the old nor the new IP.

I've decided to reflash the R120 firmware in order to reset all settings.

The flashing step was successfull as shown in the log below :

Code: Select all

Comport (example 3, 4, ..)           :9
Flash Size (example 512, 1024, 4096) :4096
Build (example 71, 72, ..)           :120
Using com port: 9
Using bin file: ESPEasy_R120_4096.bin
esptool v0.4.6 - (c) 2014 Ch. Klippel <ck@atelier-klippel.de>
        setting board to nodemcu
        setting baudrate from 115200 to 115200
        setting port from COM1 to COM9
        setting address from 0x00000000 to 0x00000000
        espcomm_upload_file
        stat ESPEasy_R120_4096.bin success
        setting serial port timeouts to 1000 ms
opening bootloader
resetting board
trying to connect
        flush start
        setting serial port timeouts to 1 ms
        setting serial port timeouts to 1000 ms
        flush complete
        espcomm_send_command: sending command header
        espcomm_send_command: sending command payload
        read 0, requested 1
trying to connect
        flush start
        setting serial port timeouts to 1 ms
        setting serial port timeouts to 1000 ms
        flush complete
        espcomm_send_command: sending command header
        espcomm_send_command: sending command payload
        espcomm_send_command: receiving 2 bytes of data
        espcomm_send_command: receiving 2 bytes of data
        espcomm_send_command: receiving 2 bytes of data
        espcomm_send_command: receiving 2 bytes of data
        espcomm_send_command: receiving 2 bytes of data
        espcomm_send_command: receiving 2 bytes of data
        espcomm_send_command: receiving 2 bytes of data
        espcomm_send_command: receiving 2 bytes of data
        espcomm_open
Uploading 411264 bytes from ESPEasy_R120_4096.bin to flash at 0x00000000
        erasing flash
        size: 064680 address: 000000
        first_sector_index: 0
        total_sector_count: 101
        head_sector_count: 16
        adjusted_sector_count: 85
        adjusted_size: 055000
        espcomm_send_command: sending command header
        espcomm_send_command: sending command payload
        setting serial port timeouts to 10000 ms
        setting serial port timeouts to 1000 ms
        espcomm_send_command: receiving 2 bytes of data
        writing flash
.............................................................................................
.............................................................................................
..................................................................................
starting app without reboot
        espcomm_send_command: sending command header
        espcomm_send_command: sending command payload
        espcomm_send_command: receiving 2 bytes of data
closing bootloader
        flush start
        setting serial port timeouts to 1 ms
        setting serial port timeouts to 1000 ms
        flush complete
Appuyez sur une touche pour continuer...
After the Flash, I unplugged my NodeMCU and replug it.
However it doesn't create the ESP_0 Access Point to set it up. I don't see it in the Wifi access point. So I can't configure it.

Could you please help me to reset my device so I can reconfigure it ?

Laurent

Shardan
Normal user
Posts: 1156
Joined: 03 Sep 2016, 23:27
Location: Bielefeld / Germany

Re: Reflashed NodeMCU but no ESP_XX AP available

#2 Post by Shardan » 04 Jun 2017, 23:26

Hello Laurent,

in general the UART - no matter if you use the one on the nodeMCU or a separate USB-TTL programmer - is not able to see if
the code really has reached the flash and if it is really and completely flashed.
So the output of the ESPtool when flashing is nice but does not really say much.

Further the flashing usuallly does not erase the flash so some remnants of former installs might cause troubles.

There are many possible reasons for the behaviour you see.

As a first step to see whats going wrong:
Use a serial monitoring tool (ESPlorer, maybe Putty, nearly any serial terminal program) to see what the nodeMCU
reports back when booting. This usually gives some hints what's wrong.



Regards
Shardan
Regards
Shardan

LoTheGeek
Normal user
Posts: 10
Joined: 17 Apr 2017, 10:22

Re: Reflashed NodeMCU but no ESP_XX AP available

#3 Post by LoTheGeek » 05 Jun 2017, 01:16

Hi,

This is what I see at the boot up :

Code: Select all

INIT : Booting Build nr:120
bcn 0
del if1
usl
add if1
dhcp server start:(ip:192.168.4.1,mask:255.255.255.0,gw:192.168.4.1)
bcn 100
bcn 0
del if1
usl
mode : sta(60:01:94:23:89:36)
add if0
IP   : Static IP :192.168.0.9
WIFI : Connecting... 1
f r0, scandone
state: 0 -> 2 (b0)
state: 2 -> 3 (0)
state: 3 -> 5 (10)
add 0
aid 4
cnt 

connected with Tomato24, channel 13
ip:192.168.0.9,mask:192.168.0.254,gw:255.255.255.0
WIFI : Connected!
INIT : I2C
INIT : Boot OK
INIT : Normal boot
pm open,type:2 0
WD   : Uptime 0 ConnectFailures 0 FreeMem 29008
WD   : Uptime 1 ConnectFailures 0 FreeMem 28976
WD   : Uptime 1 ConnectFailures 0 FreeMem 28640
WD   : Uptime 2 ConnectFailures 0 FreeMem 28608
WD   : Uptime 2 ConnectFailures 0 FreeMem 28592
WD   : Uptime 3 ConnectFailures 0 FreeMem 28576

In the second part, Tomato24 is my wifi SSID. I can see that Gateway and subnet mask are inverted.
I don't know why it tries to connect to my wifi even after I flashed the MCU.
How can I do to get out of this situation ?

Laurent

Shardan
Normal user
Posts: 1156
Joined: 03 Sep 2016, 23:27
Location: Bielefeld / Germany

Re: Reflashed NodeMCU but no ESP_XX AP available

#4 Post by Shardan » 05 Jun 2017, 14:19

Obviously there are still some remnants of a former version in the flash.

You may try to remove them with a complete reset

From the serial terminal send a "reset" (without "") to the nodemcu.
With the version R120 you should see a "counting up" on the serial monitor.
Wait until its finished, then reboot. The device should be back to AP on 192.168.4.1.
Another way to clear the Flash is described at
http://www.pratikpanda.com/completely-f ... sh-memory/
Even it is possible to do a hard reset:
Switch off the nodeMCU. Connect Rx and Tx and switch on the nodeMCU.

BTW the R120 is pretty outdated.
The old ESPEasy Versions got up to R147.
Meanwhile there is a newer Version, ESPEasy-2.0.0 in development.
You'll find the binaries at https://github.com/letscontrolit/ESPEasy/releases

Regards
Shardan
Regards
Shardan

LoTheGeek
Normal user
Posts: 10
Joined: 17 Apr 2017, 10:22

Re: Reflashed NodeMCU but no ESP_XX AP available

#5 Post by LoTheGeek » 08 Jun 2017, 20:48

Hello,

I've connected Rx and TX and now it is working. Thanks for your advices

By the way what is the recommended version for easyesp ?

Laurent

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Anthropic Claude Bot [bot], Bing [Bot] and 21 guests