Moderators: grovkillen, Stuntteam, TD-er
-
vincen
- Normal user
- Posts: 92
- Joined: 26 Jun 2017, 07:15
#1
Post
by vincen » 10 Jul 2017, 10:16
Hi
After having used few NodeMCU V2/V3 with ESP Easy I wanted to test it on D1 Mini Pro. I just received mine and I have a little issue. I did a clean of the flash without problem:
Code: Select all
vincen@Fixe-Ubuntu:~/Bureau$ esptool.py --port /dev/ttyUSB0 erase_flash
esptool.py v2.0
Connecting....
Detecting chip type... ESP8266
Chip is ESP8266
Uploading stub...
Running stub...
Stub running...
Erasing flash (this may take a while)...
Chip erase completed successfully in 38.8s
Hard resetting...
vincen@Fixe-Ubuntu:~/Bureau$
Then I flashed the firmware in it also without any troubles:
Code: Select all
vincen@Fixe-Ubuntu:~/Bureau$ esptool.py --port /dev/ttyUSB0 write_flash -fm dio 0x00000 ESPEasy_v2.0.0-dev10_dev_8285.bin
esptool.py v2.0
Connecting....
Detecting chip type... ESP8266
Chip is ESP8266
Uploading stub...
Running stub...
Stub running...
Configuring flash size...
Auto-detected Flash size: 16MB
Flash params set to 0x0290
Compressed 583728 bytes to 383495...
Wrote 583728 bytes (383495 compressed) at 0x00000000 in 33.7 seconds (effective 138.5 kbit/s)...
Hash of data verified.
Leaving...
Hard resetting...
vincen@Fixe-Ubuntu:~/Bureau$
Once rebooted I get blue led on board to blink once every 3/4 seconds and that's it ! I have no ESP_0 wifi signal appears !
What can I do to find the problem ? and fix it ?
Thanks
Vincèn
-
toffel969
- Normal user
- Posts: 469
- Joined: 03 Jan 2017, 10:58
- Location: Germany
#2
Post
by toffel969 » 10 Jul 2017, 10:22
vincen wrote: ↑10 Jul 2017, 10:16
Hi
After having used few NodeMCU V2/V3 with ESP Easy I wanted to test it on D1 Mini Pro. I just received mine and I have a little issue. I did a clean of the flash without problem:
Code: Select all
vincen@Fixe-Ubuntu:~/Bureau$ esptool.py --port /dev/ttyUSB0 erase_flash
esptool.py v2.0
Connecting....
Detecting chip type... ESP8266
Chip is ESP8266
Uploading stub...
Running stub...
Stub running...
Erasing flash (this may take a while)...
Chip erase completed successfully in 38.8s
Hard resetting...
vincen@Fixe-Ubuntu:~/Bureau$
Then I flashed the firmware in it also without any troubles:
Code: Select all
vincen@Fixe-Ubuntu:~/Bureau$ esptool.py --port /dev/ttyUSB0 write_flash -fm dio 0x00000 ESPEasy_v2.0.0-dev10_dev_8285.bin
esptool.py v2.0
Connecting....
Detecting chip type... ESP8266
Chip is ESP8266
Uploading stub...
Running stub...
Stub running...
Configuring flash size...
Auto-detected Flash size: 16MB
Flash params set to 0x0290
Compressed 583728 bytes to 383495...
Wrote 583728 bytes (383495 compressed) at 0x00000000 in 33.7 seconds (effective 138.5 kbit/s)...
Hash of data verified.
Leaving...
Hard resetting...
vincen@Fixe-Ubuntu:~/Bureau$
Once rebooted I get blue led on board to blink once every 3/4 seconds and that's it ! I have no ESP_0 wifi signal appears !
What can I do to find the problem ? and fix it ?
Thanks
Vincèn
Try to connect with a serial adapter and see what is going on. I had a similiar thing, when connecting with serial I saw numbers running up. After it finished running up, it booted normally and I found the ESP_0.
Domoticz on Raspi 2 -- 14 ESP units (hacked Sonoff,NodeMCUs, Wemos, self-built units) running with RC140- Mega 2.0.0 dev8
-
vincen
- Normal user
- Posts: 92
- Joined: 26 Jun 2017, 07:15
#3
Post
by vincen » 10 Jul 2017, 12:58
toffel969 wrote: ↑10 Jul 2017, 10:22Try to connect with a serial adapter and see what is going on. I had a similiar thing, when connecting with serial I saw numbers running up. After it finished running up, it booted normally and I found the ESP_0.
Well I connected with Minicom to the USB port of the D1 and it's stuck in a boot loop

Here is what I get in bootloop ? I'm going to try the other versions avalaible to check if it's the same !
Code: Select all
INIT : Booting version: v2.0.0-dev10
FS : Mount failed
FS : Mount failed
PID:0
Version:0
INIT : Incorrect PID or version!
Resetting factory defaults...
RESET: Reboot count: 160
RESET: To many reset attempts
Exception (0):
epc1=0x40106f19 epc2=0x00000000 epc3=0x00000000 excvaddr=0x00000000 depc=0x00000000
ctx: cont
sp: 3fff35d0 end: 3fff3840 offset: 01a0
>>>stack>>>
3fff3770: 0000001c 00000000 3fff2758 401004d8
3fff3780: 3fff2758 3fff2758 3fff4a7c 40205b69
3fff3790: 00000000 00000001 0000005b 4010020c
3fff37a0: 0000001c 00000000 3fff2758 00000000
3fff37b0: 0000001c 00000000 3fff2758 40201710
3fff37c0: 00000001 3fff3890 3fff2820 3fff3890
3fff37d0: 3fffdad0 3fff2814 40203314 3fff2814
3fff37e0: 3fffdad0 3fff2758 3fff15bc 40216135
3fff37f0: 3fffdad0 3fff2758 3fff15bc 4023342d
3fff3800: feefeffe feefeffe feefeffe 3fff4a8c
-
papperone
- Normal user
- Posts: 497
- Joined: 04 Oct 2016, 23:16
#4
Post
by papperone » 10 Jul 2017, 13:39
D1 Mini PRO has 16Mb and not 4Mb si I suspect the issue is that you need to compile the firmware with the right settings and not to use a precompiled one...
EDIT: why your are flashing an ESP8266 with ESP8285 compiled??
-
vincen
- Normal user
- Posts: 92
- Joined: 26 Jun 2017, 07:15
#5
Post
by vincen » 10 Jul 2017, 15:01
papperone wrote: ↑10 Jul 2017, 13:39D1 Mini PRO has 16Mb and not 4Mb si I suspect the issue is that you need to compile the firmware with the right settings and not to use a precompiled one...
oki my fault, I expected smaller firmware to fit in larger chips no ?
papperone wrote: ↑10 Jul 2017, 13:39EDIT:
why your are flashing an ESP8266 with ESP8285 compiled??
I used the precompiled one avalaible on website so going to look now for version for 16M and try to flash it and see how it goes
Update: I installed PlatformIO in my Atom and downloaded source to build a custom one but there is no option to set memory higher than 4Mb

and I found none precompiled for 16M

-
toffel969
- Normal user
- Posts: 469
- Joined: 03 Jan 2017, 10:58
- Location: Germany
#6
Post
by toffel969 » 12 Jul 2017, 10:50
vincen wrote: ↑10 Jul 2017, 15:01
papperone wrote: ↑10 Jul 2017, 13:39D1 Mini PRO has 16Mb and not 4Mb si I suspect the issue is that you need to compile the firmware with the right settings and not to use a precompiled one...
oki my fault, I expected smaller firmware to fit in larger chips no ?
papperone wrote: ↑10 Jul 2017, 13:39EDIT:
why your are flashing an ESP8266 with ESP8285 compiled??
I used the precompiled one avalaible on website so going to look now for version for 16M and try to flash it and see how it goes
Update: I installed PlatformIO in my Atom and downloaded source to build a custom one but there is no option to set memory higher than 4Mb

and I found none precompiled for 16M
Your assumption that smaller firmware should fit is correct. I use precomiled *.bin on D1 pro mini, I think the 8285 vs 8266 is the relevant problem here.
Domoticz on Raspi 2 -- 14 ESP units (hacked Sonoff,NodeMCUs, Wemos, self-built units) running with RC140- Mega 2.0.0 dev8
-
LeisureLadi
- New user
- Posts: 3
- Joined: 22 Jul 2017, 22:31
#7
Post
by LeisureLadi » 25 Jul 2017, 06:55
ESP8285 has 1MB built-in flash memery using DOUT flash mode. Your WEMOS has got external flash memory (either 4 MB or 16 MB, of which only 4 MB can be really used) which needs to be flashed in DIO mode. Size of the precompiled program doesn't matter as reported already.
-
randytsuch
- Normal user
- Posts: 33
- Joined: 05 Jun 2017, 05:32
#8
Post
by randytsuch » 25 Jul 2017, 17:01
I had the same problem, and ended up installing the arduino compiler, and built ESP Easy from source.
There are a lot of tutorials online that describe some changes you need to make for the ESP, mostly adding 4 libraries.
Using the code I built, I was able to get a pro to run, and ESP_0 shows up after a few minutes.
Randy
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: Anthropic Claude Bot [bot], Bing [Bot] and 20 guests