is it possible for one espeasy device to control other espeasy devices
Moderators: grovkillen, Stuntteam, TD-er
is it possible for one espeasy device to control other espeasy devices
Hi,
I have multiple espeasy configured devices and i want to be able to switch some of the devices based on the states of one of them, pls is this possible and how can i accomplish it.
Thanks
I have multiple espeasy configured devices and i want to be able to switch some of the devices based on the states of one of them, pls is this possible and how can i accomplish it.
Thanks
- grovkillen
- Core team member
- Posts: 3621
- Joined: 19 Jan 2017, 12:56
- Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
- Contact:
Re: is it possible for one espeasy device to control other espeasy devices
You can do that using HTTP, MQTT, or UDP. What's your environment first of all.
PS. MQTT is by far the best way in my opinion.
PS. MQTT is by far the best way in my opinion.
ESP Easy Flasher [flash tool and wifi setup at flash time]
ESP Easy Webdumper [easy screendumping of your units]
ESP Easy Netscan [find units]
Official shop: https://firstbyte.shop/
Sponsor ESP Easy, we need you

ESP Easy Webdumper [easy screendumping of your units]
ESP Easy Netscan [find units]
Official shop: https://firstbyte.shop/
Sponsor ESP Easy, we need you



Re: is it possible for one espeasy device to control other espeasy devices
If you have an MQTT broker, or you can install it to anywhere, for example on an OpenWRT router, or a Raspberry PI, then MQTT is a good way. Then ESPEasy devices can be controlled by any other node (either ESPEasy Publish command) or by other mqtt clients.
If that's not what you tought, then:
1. At "Config->Unit number" you can set an ID number to your ESP.
2. At "Controllers" you can select "ESPEasy P2P Networking".
3. "Tools->Advanced->UDP port" you can specify which network port do you want to use.
Then you can control directly any ESPEasy device from another (in the same lan) without knowing it's IP address, simply by using:
SendTo: SendTo <unit>,<command>
https://www.letscontrolit.com/wiki/inde ... rial_Rules
Earlier there were also a "Global sync" option, which i shomehow can not find in the latest ESPEasy Mega releases, this was exactly made for exporting variables between ESPEasy nodes.
-
- Normal user
- Posts: 307
- Joined: 06 Nov 2016, 13:45
Re: is it possible for one espeasy device to control other espeasy devices
Take a look at:
https://www.letscontrolit.com/wiki/inde ... GlobalSync
GUI example is not fully correct anymore (fore last picture is changed)
Look for Inter-ESPEasy Network under Tools/Advanced
Fill-in an UDP port and it should (?) work.
Make sure that tasks are uniquely numbered in the group of ESP's.
All tasks will appear in all nodes and kept synchronized by the UDP port.
https://www.letscontrolit.com/wiki/inde ... GlobalSync
GUI example is not fully correct anymore (fore last picture is changed)
Look for Inter-ESPEasy Network under Tools/Advanced
Fill-in an UDP port and it should (?) work.
Make sure that tasks are uniquely numbered in the group of ESP's.
All tasks will appear in all nodes and kept synchronized by the UDP port.
30+ ESP units for production and test. Ranging from control of heating equipment, flow sensing, floor temp sensing, energy calculation, floor thermostat, water usage, to an interactive "fun box" for my grandson. Mainly Wemos D1.
Re: is it possible for one espeasy device to control other espeasy devices
As far as i can see GlobalSyncv isn't available in the last Mega versions.Domosapiens wrote: ↑20 Sep 2018, 19:46 Take a look at:
https://www.letscontrolit.com/wiki/inde ... GlobalSync
GUI example is not fully correct anymore (fore last picture is changed)
Look for Inter-ESPEasy Network under Tools/Advanced
Fill-in an UDP port and it should (?) work.
Make sure that tasks are uniquely numbered in the group of ESP's.
All tasks will appear in all nodes and kept synchronized by the UDP port.
Regards
Shardan
Shardan
- grovkillen
- Core team member
- Posts: 3621
- Joined: 19 Jan 2017, 12:56
- Location: Hudiksvall, Sweden
- Contact:
Re: is it possible for one espeasy device to control other espeasy devices
It has been moved from advanced settings to a controller. You find it in the drop down.
ESP Easy Flasher [flash tool and wifi setup at flash time]
ESP Easy Webdumper [easy screendumping of your units]
ESP Easy Netscan [find units]
Official shop: https://firstbyte.shop/
Sponsor ESP Easy, we need you

ESP Easy Webdumper [easy screendumping of your units]
ESP Easy Netscan [find units]
Official shop: https://firstbyte.shop/
Sponsor ESP Easy, we need you



Re: is it possible for one espeasy device to control other espeasy devices
Thanks for your responses. Am interested in connecting them in the standalone mode + http. I eventually came across the sendtohttp rule which helped me in communicating directly between the espeasy devices without a controller
Re: is it possible for one espeasy device to control other espeasy devices
I hope to explore this option(sendto) too, since keeping track of changing IP address can be worrisomeenesbcs wrote: ↑20 Sep 2018, 17:55If you have an MQTT broker, or you can install it to anywhere, for example on an OpenWRT router, or a Raspberry PI, then MQTT is a good way. Then ESPEasy devices can be controlled by any other node (either ESPEasy Publish command) or by other mqtt clients.
If that's not what you tought, then:
1. At "Config->Unit number" you can set an ID number to your ESP.
2. At "Controllers" you can select "ESPEasy P2P Networking".
3. "Tools->Advanced->UDP port" you can specify which network port do you want to use.
Then you can control directly any ESPEasy device from another (in the same lan) without knowing it's IP address, simply by using:
SendTo: SendTo <unit>,<command>
https://www.letscontrolit.com/wiki/inde ... rial_Rules
Earlier there were also a "Global sync" option, which i shomehow can not find in the latest ESPEasy Mega releases, this was exactly made for exporting variables between ESPEasy nodes.
Re: is it possible for one espeasy device to control other espeasy devices
It has indeed been moved from that plugin-checkmark to a controller (C013 ESPEasy P2P network), since it has essentially the function of a controller.
Its implementation is still a bit 'experimental' (read: it has lots of room for optimization, especially when using lots of nodes)
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests