I finally upgraded all my esp8266 boards with the latest ESP Easy software. I'm using the BME280 devices and viewing the LOG option from the TOOLS tab, to view the data from the sensor. I notice it is giving me a Dew Point reading along with the Temp, Humidity, and Pressure. In the Device Setup tab for the sensor, there isn't a "Value box" for the Dew Point. Is that something that can be added?
Thanks
John
ESP Easy and BME280 data
Moderators: grovkillen, Stuntteam, TD-er
-
- Normal user
- Posts: 286
- Joined: 27 Dec 2015, 11:26
- Location: the Netherlands
Re: ESP Easy and BME280 data
Look here, maybe this is your solution.johntech2004 wrote: ↑03 Nov 2018, 14:25 I finally upgraded all my esp8266 boards with the latest ESP Easy software. I'm using the BME280 devices and viewing the LOG option from the TOOLS tab, to view the data from the sensor. I notice it is giving me a Dew Point reading along with the Temp, Humidity, and Pressure. In the Device Setup tab for the sensor, there isn't a "Value box" for the Dew Point. Is that something that can be added?
Thanks
John
viewtopic.php?t=3013
-
- New user
- Posts: 5
- Joined: 25 Oct 2018, 17:54
Re: ESP Easy and BME280 data
Since the sensor is putting out that information already, I didn't know how easy it would be to add that field to the BME280 data information to have it display automatically.
-
- Normal user
- Posts: 305
- Joined: 21 Oct 2016, 15:20
- Location: Hengelo (Ov)/ NL
Re: ESP Easy and BME280 data
Direct access is better, but if BME280's data on Dew Point cannot be directly accessed, why not use a Dummy Device?
See https://www.letscontrolit.com/wiki/inde ... example.29
See https://www.letscontrolit.com/wiki/inde ... example.29
-
- Normal user
- Posts: 1156
- Joined: 03 Sep 2016, 23:27
- Location: Bielefeld / Germany
Re: ESP Easy and BME280 data
Guys, please read what Threads Opener hast written!
The BME 280 already does all calculations for dew point.
It ist Not necessary to recalculate it.
Question is if ESPEasy is able oder can be enabled to use a
fourth value in the Task.
The BME 280 already does all calculations for dew point.
It ist Not necessary to recalculate it.
Question is if ESPEasy is able oder can be enabled to use a
fourth value in the Task.
Regards
Shardan
Shardan
-
- Normal user
- Posts: 11
- Joined: 05 Feb 2018, 20:53
Re: ESP Easy and BME280 data
Actually I am also interested in getting the dew point information from the BME280 and then want to send it over MQTT.
Is there a way to get that value from the sensor directly?
Is there a way to get that value from the sensor directly?
-
- Normal user
- Posts: 190
- Joined: 12 Oct 2017, 20:46
Re: ESP Easy and BME280 data
Guys, please read what datasheets has written! 
https://ae-bst.resource.bosch.com/media ... -DS002.pdf
I'm curious, if anyone finds a registry number where the dew point can be read at BME280.
Or that it was not there?
At "BME280 plugin" dew point is calculated by plugin itself and then logged:
calculated here:

https://ae-bst.resource.bosch.com/media ... -DS002.pdf
I'm curious, if anyone finds a registry number where the dew point can be read at BME280.
Or that it was not there?
At "BME280 plugin" dew point is calculated by plugin itself and then logged:
Code: Select all
if (sensor.hasHumidity()) {
if (loglevelActiveFor(LOG_LEVEL_INFO)) {
log += F(" dew point ");
log += sensor.last_dew_temp_val;
log += F("C");
logAdded = true;
}
Code: Select all
sensor.last_dew_temp_val = compute_dew_point_temp(sensor.last_temp_val + (tempOffset / 2.0), sensor.last_hum_val);
Code: Select all
float compute_dew_point_temp(float temperature, float humidity_percentage) {
return pow(humidity_percentage / 100.0, 0.125) *
(112.0 + 0.9*temperature) + 0.1*temperature - 112.0;
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: Anthropic Claude Bot [bot], Google [Bot] and 18 guests